Cleaning House And Democratizing Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

030.jpg
Shiba Shakes From Google Images (This isn't me by the way... sorry guys)

I posted the other day about all of the junk posts on my feed and although I didn't know most of the people posting... I decided to clean out my following list and have been monitoring my upvote feed on steem.stats and decided to keep only people with whom I interact in some way (and I've still got over 200!). So, if you're not there anymore, you know why (and if I've deleted you by mistake, let me know- it was early in the morning). By the way, I came across @lauralemons while cleaning and although she's no longer with us, I couldn't bring myself to remove her (RIP Laura)!

I've also read posts about democratizing Steemit going back as long as I can remember and I've had an idea... Yes I know! I typically get requests from people wanting me to vote for them as witness and it occurred to me, why should I support someone that doesn't support me? In the interest of being fair, I'm not talking about every post (although there is one who does- Thank you very much my friend), it wouldn't be possible with the new voting restrictions per the last HF, but once in awhile an upvote or resteem wouldn't kill anyone. So I've decided to do a little housecleaning there as well. If I voted for you and you've never returned the love- you're gone.

So if you're interested in a more democratic platform, remember you have power too- use it wisely and judiciously.

GIF by @papa-pepper

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

It's hard to tear my eyes off that image long enough to read the post.

You're right, no reason to follow or witness approve anyone who never did anything for you.

Spring/Fall cleaning of followers? Not a bad idea. (I think I am a little too lazy to do that myself though)

I think all those points are fair. Gotta share the Steemit love, else what's the point?

I look at it as a community (for a lot of us anyway), I have people that I help on here financially and when I needed help, the community helped out. I don't like to think of things as quid pro quo... But one hand does wash the other.

I already fall-cleaned my follower list!

I keep adding!

Heh... That image is made using the DAZ program I do a lot of reviews and tutorials of. :)

I found it on google... I find a pic usually helps draw attention to a post!

I hope I am stll on your list, I enjoy your tales and posts

The only ones that aren't are people I never hear from, or never upvote me... One hand washes the other!

just pass the soap.

Are you sure thats not you? Haha thanks @richq11 , i am gonna return the favor.

I wish!!! If it was, I wouldn't be writing on steemit! The favor???

I noticed that after I became a Dolphin, a lot of the witnesses that had voted consistently for me stopped doing so much of it; I wonder if some of the witnesses are committed to making dolphins out of whales (no names)

lol.. I know 95% of my upvotes goto minnows, mainly because I am a Minnow support project supporter. And I try very hard to make sure new comers here have a great experience. I believe if they get some votes for good content when they first join, they are hooked, and then go tell their families and friends about Steemit. Which is great for all of us here.

I can see Rich's point, but I also understand your approach...
in fact, when I was a minnow, it was one I advocated ;>

The sense I get is that they're like politicians... It's all good when they need your vote, but then spend their time jerking each other off under the table! Not all, mind you- I kept the ones I believe are valuable.

if it's a quid pro quo thing, then exactly

That my man is a good post and good advice. Cleaning house every now and then can be a chore, but still come spring time we all know it needs to be done, and we need to move the clutter out of the way before every winter, so we have room to play indoors.

Thank you for your Post and especially your stories, and for being real.

Thank you my friend!

Congratulations @richq11! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48