Commenting Without Voting : How Bad Has The Hard Fork Affected Your Voting?

in #steemit7 years ago

no vote.png
no vote

See My Comment but No Vote

I felt compelled to ask this question because I have seen some unusual things on my blog of recent. I see a lot of people who visit my blog, want their presence noticed by dropping a comment but leaves without voting.

I do not know if hard fork can be blamed for this but I do know that this was nearly not happening before the hard fork or I never really noticed it.

Is It Wrong To Comment Without Voting?

Well, I cannot say if it is right or wrong but I certainly feel that it does not appear ideal to visit a blog, feel it is important to the point of dropping a positive comment and then leave without dropping a vote.

I feel that if the blog post was good to the point of deserving your comment, it should have at least a penniless vote from you.

I want to get responses from people via the comment box please. Let us discuss this by dropping your thought.

Image Source

Richguy1.png

Sort:  

I agree, if the post was interesting enough to make you want to comment, it is fair to upvote the post.
If you dont have the vote slider thing yet, your upvote wont make a huge reward difference but in terms of morale of the creator it is worth it.
If you have enough Steempower to have the vote slider, then even just a 1% upvote would be fair, if you are leaving comments.

Another thing, if you are responding to a comment, why not upvote that comment. I see the trend of no votes happening a lot in comment trees too.

Not upvoting doesn't really help anyone, including comment makers.

This captures my thought completely. I am standing with you 100% on this including my vote. Lol.

I agree with you as long as you the reader agree with the content and the opinions the author made on his.
However if you disagree with the post and want to leave your opinion on why you think he is wrong to start a disussion, then naturally you wouldn,t want to upvote that post.

Nice point. I definitely agree with you on that. It is the prerogative of the reader to know if he would vote an author he does not agree with. He can vote such author as a way of encouragement and he can also decide not to vote at him.

It does dent the morale of the writer to see the effort he has put into preparing the post. A vote is a sign of recognition no matter how small the rewards. To see the votes shows the progress that the writer is making in attracting traffic to his work (excluding those who vote using bots).

You are right. Everything is not all about money. For some of us who have blogging experience outside here, when you check that your traffic and you see it rising, even if it is not bringing money yet, you are encouraged that people are seeing your content.

Loading...

In my opinion, it doesn't hurt to stick a 1-5% vote on something you are 'inspired' enough to comment on.

We stand on the same page on this brother. This is my opinion too. If it makes sense enough for me to bother commenting, it should be good that I vote with at least 1%.

I like the thought process you shared.

It makes sense that we drop a vote as a way of encouragement even if it has no weight.

I agree completely!

I did notice this trend as well right after the Fork. Unfortunately it looks like Greed is starting to take over the Steemit community,most of the newbies are using they newly upgraded voting power to upVote their own comments instead of rewarding/encouraging creators. It is sad!

I think you are right there. I believe I started noticing this more after the hard fork.

I comment not to get noticed, but to acknowledge great content and to add insight and my personal views and thoughts. Sometimes I will correct errors or misstatements.

As for the hardfork, it's totally trashed my voting power, so it's pointless for me to upvote. You only get 0.01c, and my voting power doesn't recover @richguy.😢

I am sorry to here the HF19 was not friendly to you. I think that HF19 was great and beneficial however, it came with its own challenges.

Writing a comment to a post doesn't always mean you like or agree with what is being said in the post. I myself am not commenting just when a "blog post was good to the point of deserving your comment".

Also, everybody has a voting slider, regardless of their Steem Power, if they vote using chainBB.

I still drop my upvotes as I did before, but maybe it is because I don't mind running out of power, I don't post that much, don't have that much power, etc. But I haven' t run out of power yet. I do see a lot of people upvoting their own COMMENTS, though, and that seems bizarre for me, because then they obviously are not gonna upvote anybody else, because you can comment endlessly...

Great to know you upvote others with your little vote. That is how it should be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58661.64
ETH 2723.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32