You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why don't I upvote some people's content (anymore), even if I like it?

in #steemit6 years ago

I think it's good to have open honest communication about the bid bots. I think we would be better off without them or if no one used them. However, the problem has been pointed out over and over and it doesn't seem to change anything. Do you see a solution that we could actually get support for and try to get done? I've seen some pretty good suggestions but nothing that has ever taken hold.

Sort:  

Yes, we can't change the main site features, unless Steemit inc does. If enough people posted about it it would make waves and the consensus would force a change by their hand, or maybe @andrarchy as Steemit's Content Director can help get the Trending page to change and that would change motivations partially? Is that the main thing you are talking about, trending?

What are the exact changes that should be made is the question. What is the solution that we want to rally behind to get rid of the bidbots or make them obsolete. I agree that talking about the issue is a good thing to do, but I see the discussion getting further from the forefront. The market seems to have spoken. It seems that people don't want a paradigm shifting gift economy. It looks like we want the same old selfish bullshit. I hope not, but that's the way it is starting to look to me.

I think the trending page is where the problem is most visible and probably the place to deal with the problem, but I think the bidbots undermine the whole idea of the platform. I guess communities might help fix the problem. My hope is that a community that doesn't use bots becomes the place for the best content and therefore the most successful. However, I'm not convinced that will happen at this point. I don't know what the solution is. If there was a solution that someone was putting forth that made sense to me, I would get behind it.

I would love to hear @andrarcy's thoughts on this. As Content Director, this should be a top priority in my opinion. From recent interviews, it seems that steemit inc. is well aware of the problem. The thing we are missing is a solution that makes sense. I don't think it's that difficult to come up with one, but I haven't been able to come up with something that appeases the majority of the stakeholders at least not a stake weighted majority.

No, don't encourage Steemit to make more rules. Let this site be governed by it's users. Otherwise we will finally become like facebook and youtube. It all started with one little rule.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44