My First Steemit Meetup--With SirCork!

in #steemit7 years ago

This past Thursday, I got to meet @sircork face to face. A while back, he’d asked if I could keep his dogs Thor and Raya for him while he travels (quite literally) around the world looking after business with his charity, @youarehope. I was thrilled to contribute in this way, so he loaded them up and drove them nearly six hours across Virginia to my animal rescue facility.

He and the dogs got here a little past one p.m., tired from the trip but excited to meet dogs and other Steemians, depending on the species. LOL Within minutes, I felt like I’d known SirCork for ages. As raucous as he can be on the Steemit platform, he’s one of the most earnest and friendly people I’ve ever met IRL. @catherine813 and @cherielayne were also here, and we gathered on the front deck of the rescue and talked and talked and talked and talked while Raya and Thor explored the edge of the woods.

He’d worn his Steemit T-shirt so I’d know for sure it was him, but all he had to do was speak. I’d know that voice anywhere. I have to admit, it was pretty cool when we crashed the @shadowspub PYPT afterparty and the founder of the Steemstar Network himself sat broadcasting from my very own laptop. We spent a while visiting with the folks in chat there and had a blast.

Later, even though cherielayne wasn’t able to join us, we met my husband at a restaurant in town and had a great time over steak, elk, and chicken strips-times-two. We gave Catherine a hard time about her double plates, but she’d ordered off the kids’ menu and it was the only way to make sure she got enough to eat. She also got teased about having $3 McNuggets when she could have had $32 elk steak. Fortunately, Catherine is a great sport and had just as much fun with the nonsense as we did. Gotta love that kid!

The elk dinner that Sircork ordered came with its own brand of humor. You just can’t make this stuff up.

All in all, we had a great time. We definitely plan to do this again. Several Steemitizens live proximal to me, including @arrelaine13, @witchguard, @therosepatch, @uniwhisp, and @ethandsmith. Who knows? We might make plans to do this again sometime soon and invite more folks. This was my first official Steemit “meetup” and it makes me wish the world were a whole lot smaller so we could all make a regular thing of visiting our blockchain friends in person.

Sort:  

So awesome! Looks like you guys had fun.

We did!!!

Have to say we don't get a lot of elk in restaurants in Australia, but guessing you guys probably don't get a lot of kangaroo and crocodile either LOL . Love the bail bond photo too!

I've had alligator, but not croc meat. So yeah. . .location, location, location. :-)

We saw the bail bonds neon and just couldn't resist. Poor Catherine is probably the only one out of the three who might not need their services some day. LOLOL!

What are you saying... some day

Ive used them a few times already in life!

RFLMAO!!!! Well, I didn't want to be that revealing. LOLOL

How's Amsterdam?

Hadn't thought about alligator! LMFAO... I'd offer free legal representation but don't think I'm qualified in your jurisdiction LOL

Looks like you had a great time. And it's nice of you to take in the dog for a good cause. I'm surprised you have any room left, but at least it's a little one!

I'd love the chance to try some Elk steak.

Well. . .the little one is ours. That's Ferris--the meanest dog in the whole place. LOLOL! Sircork's two dogs are much nicer and I've hardly known they're here. Great dogs. :-)

Oh - heh, well, the little guy looks terrifying then!

Indeed.Ferris and Christopher.jpg

Ha! How fun. :) Definitely need to arrange a meetup in VA sometime!

Yes, we do!!!

you get a 100% upvote for dealing w/ sircork.
;-)
and that is just one of many awesome benifits of helping good people on this platform!
thank you ! for all you do!
namaste!

Haha! Hey, we had a great time. Can't wait for another meetup. :-)

How great! Very cool for you to watch over the corks dogs too!

It is indeed cool! They are awesome dogs, too. So well behaved. :-)

What an awesome opportunity to meet... @sircork your dogs are in great hands at Chez @rhondak's - road trip! I'll pack the bus from Canerder :-) - meet-up/fix-up.

I'm sad that you live so far away. But who knows. Once Steem has made us all rich and famous, we'll fly out for lunch on a whim. Right? LOL

You bet... But I was thinking good old fashioned road trip. Load up the tent, sleeping bags and Coleman. :-)

That sounds like fun, too. :-)

hey @rhondak, hit me up on discord asap,.... it is something goood !!!!:)
@battleaxe (on discord @youarehope aka "security")
@sircork rocks, this is awesome <3 Have an Awesome and Safe Adventure Sir!
1f71af4ba9112d9100d62a0252576bbd.gif

Signing in at 3 a.m. from the Netherlands to tell you I love this post and I hope you will follow me. Hahaha. It was awesome to meet you and everyone there of all species in person and in dog and in raccoon and well, so on, and thank you so much for loving my ever loving dogs.

Well, at least I DID follow you on Steemit, unlike the other major booboo I made a while back. LOLOL!!!

Thor and Raya are doing great. Their blanket, however, had an incident. Might have to see about replacing that before you get back. Whoops!

lol its a 3 dollar harbor freight thing, i have more of them :)

breathes sigh of relief and mops brow

So much fun! I hope I get to visit you one day!!

I would LOVE that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62311.03
ETH 2443.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69