Steemians Driven By Money...?

in #steemit7 years ago

Here we are, months after the whole spring fever crypto phase. How'd you all handle the whole retrace of the market?

It's been a while since my last post & might be the case for future posts but to each their own. I've never been a big social media guy & I never will, no matter what price tag is placed on it. Throughout the months while involved with steemit, I've noticed a lot of things I didn't think would happen but, hey, it's crypto related...anything can happen. While the crypto world can be on many different levels & mean many different things to everyone, it just seems like Steemit is stuck in the middle.

Steemit is here for what? Social media? Share info & get paid? Do any of us really know? I like the concept of steemit in the sense of giving back to the community that provides valuable info & posts. But who decides what't valuable? We do! (well the rich ones) It's a great concept to let the people decide what's valuable & what deserves some earnings in return unless the individuals have no idea about life & grew up with a silver spoon.

I'm involved with many different things within the crypto world & I'll admit, I signed up with Steemit because of the earning incentives. I wouldn't waste my time on pointless post just to make a buck, I'd actually do laborious work or something that contributes to society & post stuff that I feel is meaningful in life.

We all have our own opinion of what's meaningful in life so my last comment is a double edge sword. I guess I'm curious of what people are actually getting out of this (in a humanity/society aspect). I've seen some introduction post that, in my opinion, are completely dull & empty. It reminds me of the normal web/social media where people post nonsense but because on the trend of society, people seem to like it & carry it over to Steemit.

No one put regulation on Steemit & that's great but for someone that's been in the crypto world for the last 5 years, we are now opening the doors to a bunch of sheep that are infecting the environment with a negative trend. I've seen repost of the same stuff everywhere else online that gets so many up votes just because they copy & pasted something to Steemit. I've seen post about "Hi, I'm new & ditzy & hot" & they get massive rewards for it.

If this is what Steemit is all about, cool! I guess. I agree that people should receive incentives for posting content. It's about time the people get something back. My concern is the fact that the influence is based on people that don't understand the big picture. Maybe that's not the point of Steemit. Maybe Steemit is supposed to be the new Facebook with the same BS & the same drama. Great, we are now paying society to keep up the drama & bs.

I've done a post in the past about when is it going to far to inform people about the crypto world because they don't get it or they think there's something illegal going on. Of course, I got no replies or input on it. That's when I realized that "this community" has nothing to do with the crypto world & the direction of freeing the world from the financial system. Okay, so it does have something to do with the crypto world since it has a toke that follows with it (3 actually, way to confuse the f*(k out of people). But, luckily, it's something that can't (word has it) be manipulated in a market. That's probably good but it also makes it very hard for every user to even earn something even when their account gets racked up. It's quite a unique structure. You can earn & earn but then you can't get any of it without a waiting period & restrictions. Steemit Bank!?

The idea of Steemit is great for the Facebook junkies & the bored or lazy that really don't know what work is & just want to post nonsense in hopes they'll make a buck....and you will because of the type of people Steemit brings in.

I signed up with Steemit because of Jerry Banfield. We all know who that is. I posted a comment on his video because he promised a reply, upvote or whatever. Keep in mind this was when things were just getting rolling. There was no truth to it & never seen or heard anything. I've actually posted a few times on his post but I bet he had no idea.

What's my point of this post?
Nothing....or the fact that Steemit runs off of greed!?
It's just been on my mind about how steem has actually tanked in price in the real crypto world & it's one of those hypes. I'm sure it will get big down the road but at least for the next few years, I don't foresee much, especially with some of the stuff that's posted.

So to conclude another post,
I just vented about a bunch of nothing & nonsense. I just expressed my view on the direction of Steemit & how the community is not what I originally signed up for. It's fine, I have other communities that I will stick with since I've been better off financially doing so. I also wanted to see how many views or responses it get. Maybe, since it's slightly in a negative demeanor, I'll actually get a reply. Funny how the world works, negative = reply whereas positive = silence.

And, since my introduction post was the only post that actually amounted to something, all post from here on out, probably will never be upvoted nor commented on so it really doesn't matter what I post.

If you read this far...wow, thanks! Comment if your human.

Sort:  

Great post as always :)

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44