How to use Steem Voter - Step By Step Instruction

in #steemit8 years ago

This is a quick how-to. My father was trying to get it set up so I thought I would put together a step by step.

Make sure you go to steemvoter.com and signup an account. Once you have done that, login on their website.

Step One


As you can see below I already have an account listed. Pretend I dont. Click on the blue button that says "ADD ACCOUNT".

Step Two


Enter your Steemit account name without the @ symbol. It is also asking for your active key. This is not your regular password. You will see where to find it in the next step.

Step Three


Go to steemit.com/@yourusername (where yourusername is your steemit account name). Login to your account. Click on Permissions in the wallet area of your account (as seen below). You will need to click on the little box that says "login to show" or for the "Active Key" (the second one). The Key will change and the new one will start with the number 5 - this is the key you cut and paste to Steemvoter and click on the blue "Add New Account" Button.

Step Four


Click on rules. Now enter an authors steemit name without the @ that you would like to vote for. I keep the default settings but you can customize as fit. Click save rule for each account. Exit out of Steemvoter and you are good to go.

Sort:  

Great guide. I used the Posting Key so might need to check the steem FAQ just in case for all you new Steemians!

Nice set of instructions. Have been thinking about giving steemvoter a go.

Its great for adding people that you know consistently produce quality work.. There are dozens of accounts around here that put out quality post after quality post.. Those are the people who should be rewarded and are growing this platform - in my opinion of course! Glad you liked the instructions.. like everything in Steemit its simple but you have to read a few posts to "get it"!

Just added you to my voter. thanks! for the tutorial.

How many rules might be created for one non premium account?

thank you

Currently 3 in case someone else finds the post and wants and answer.

very helpful ty!

Yes please be sure to use the "posting key" and not the "active key." I don't believe you ever want to give out your active key.... maybe under certain circumstances. Active key gives others the ability to move your funds and that is not the goal here

please add me in your list

I read that we are not supposed to give out our active keys to anyone

I know, right?

The Posting key is the one, not the Active. I suppose this info in out of date.

Is this true? Can anyone confirm. I used the active account key. Still trying to figure it out.

Posting Key is correct. From the Steemvoter.com FAQ:

Can I give you the Active Key?
NO. NO. NO. Do not give your Active Key. We will not take responsibility if you give your active key and you lose your Steem! Also, active keys will not work.

good, clear instructions --should be entitled Steemvoter for Dummies LOL!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54