The Good and The Bad. The first week on Steemit.

in #steemit7 years ago

Seven Days on Steemit, Finally!

 
There's a lot to talk about but for now, I'll stick to what I deem to be the basic good and bad of starting steemit!

The first 7 days is probably the longest 7 days in your steemit life. It's the time when you see if you will really get paid for all of the curation and welcome posts you made on the site! For most minnows (baby/small accounts), your welcome post, if done correctly, tagged correctly and with attractive verification photos, is and probably will be your highest paid post...and probably will be for a while. That initial welcome post usually gets you excited about the platform.

"Woah, I just $10+ just saying Hello World..." 🤑

Ok, so i've seen people make $100+ on their welcome post...clearly I did mines wrong and will try to fix it another time!

As a new Steemit user, I am not sure what my expectations were besides the fact that you can finally make some money on creating content. Im sure as a new user, I'm sure your initial goal was to grow your account and make some serious money per post on this platform...and that's great...but it's definitely not as easy as it sounds.

Steemit's Yin & Yang

As with the concept of Yin & Yang, there usually is a balance between what you think and what actual reality is...so let's go through some based off my first weeks observation.

Right from the start, you initially feel like you will make lots of money off this platform...
...but it will take time and actual work to do so.

Creating content can't be that hard...
...but creating original yet entertaining or informative content on a regular actually is time consuming.

I'm just going to copy+paste content and hope people haven't seen it so they can like it...
...nah, don't do that! At least make it your own.

I should be making money in no time...
...but it will require you to have a serious following...and some people with a decent size account to like your content

"No matter how you put it, being a dedicated steemit user will require work and the ability to add value."

If you're looking to make a quick buck, this isn't the place for you!

If you happen to like creating content, reading and replying to content and/or somehow think you can add value before thinking about "getting paid"...then Steemit was made for you!

...but hey, what do I know...I've only been here for a week! 🤔


Make sure to give me a follow and upvote this post and I'll go checkout your content! I'm here for the long run.

Let's build!

Sort:  

You have the right mindset.
It takes time to grow followers and it is time consuming to write good posts.
Don't expect quick rewards at first unless you hit right in their intellect and timing is very important.
Keep learning and keep writing post. Never know when a whale can upvote and get you going.
Keep on steemit

Thanks a lot. Glad I have the right idea.
By thinking this way, hopefully it will prevent me from being discouraged about not getting enough upvotes on content but use the service as it was intended...sharing good content!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience getting started on Steemit! I followed you and shared this on day 8 of my upvotable posts with my followers!

Really appreciate it @jerrybanifeld.

I was already following you since I watch quite a bit of your youtube videos. You were a big influence on my joining in the first place!

This comment has received a 1.54 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @reyhaynes.

These are my thoughts exactly after five or six days here. Steemit will definitely be growing fast and I'm glad I discovered it when I did. Let's see what happens and good luck to you in your Steemit journey!

Every day a new idea for a new post that bring people to your blog to reed it, this is steemit blog.

This is a good mindset, I'm definitely going to follow you and resteem this! Thank you

Congratulations @reyhaynes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great list of expectations and realities. Thanks for your time and efforts. I definitely think you get out of it what you put in.

From the beginning of your post I immediately started to smile all the way to the end. Very very true. Am only here for 2 days and already came to the same conclusions. My intro post was not that well shaped as I was truly not aware of it's impact long term. That's how it normally is with lots of things in life. But really appreciate your time for putting down your assessment findings.

I am newer than yourself but I used to be on bubblews and there are similar themes there.

One has to keep writing, ideally daily. I heard there is a limit of 4 before earnings dwindle but I'm not worried about that.

Write for humans, write for search engines but keep on writing. You will see what works and what doesn't and modify your strategy accordingly.

But to stand a chance we all have to write often and get that habit started!

Thanks for this, I am excited... so long since a new platform is truly "new"... I feel like I landed on a new planet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44