You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 Days to $0: Those Worthless Old Steemit Posts

in #steemit6 years ago

You definitely have to be careful what you post on steemit - this is very much my secondary blog, my main Blog - revisesociology- is over at WordPress.... as with most things the twenty most popular posts account for a significant chunk of the traffic, and so I refine these every month/ year etc... and I can structure it with pages, it's so much better. Effectively I earn for years after the original post as traffic means ad revenue.

Steemit, with it's 7 day pay-out thing would be terrible for anyone with educational content.... for those with a more journalistic style, it can work, or just streem of consciousness/ journal type material.

Or as they guy below says... serialisations are a good way of organizing things on here.

Don't forget this is still in its experimental phases... so it will change and to my mind it basically needs become like a word press clone, there's a good reason why WP powers half the internet, and if it ain't broke, don't fix it I say.

P.S. If you power up to 5K SP (OK that's a LOT of money) you can actually earn yourself a very decent income on here... I'm not doing too badly with a 1.3 K SP invest.

Sort:  

Thank you for confirming! For me, the passive residual income is key.

I agree --- Steemit is definitely in its experimental phase, which is why it's so exciting. When I can see how powerful it is now, I can imagine it being unbelievable in the future. For me, allowing upvotes to payout after 7 days would allow minnows to build a body of work that effectively becomes a long tail. While each post doesn't earn a lot, collectively they can add up. (Content discovery would need to improve considerably on the website.) So if you write poems or scifi and someone really likes your poems and starts reading your old ones, they can just keep upvoting.

Where Steemit really rocks right now is the community. I've had more quality discussions here than anywhere else on the internet in the last 15 years. It reminds me of my early days with a blog in 2000-2003.

On the community front check out @abh12345's curation contest and those involved with that, they're a good bunch of people, also @anomadsoul is very community minded. I could go on, but those two especially.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59