You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A few thoughts on the 19 May 2018 witness chat, including some ‘discourse analysis’

in #steemit6 years ago

Thanks for the clarification on the spam, that's well explained (albeit as a flow of consciousness, but that sort of worked), so I guess limiting the bandwidth is a necessary step to take then.

It's good that anyone can become a witness, it's something I just don't have the time to explore ATM myself.

On the powering up note, you've just inspired me to invest another few hundred squid. I was going to anyway once my flat-sale goes through (hopefully in a few weeks), but I'm feeling optimistic on the back of your enthusiastic reply!

Cheers,

Karl.

Sort:  

I do often tend to be overly verbose... I'm working on breaking up my walls of text to be a little more digestible, hahah~ sorry!

This is basically the tip of the iceberg when these discussions happen; HOW do we choose to limit bandwidth or make costs that dissuade these actions without harming a large subset of the user base?

It often ends up feeling like everyone is bitching and no one is doing, but I suppose to some degree it's an important part of the process~ because I'd rather have everyone and their dog weighing in and arguing through it for a bit, than a single decision being handed down from on high with no regard for the people it effects. Our system is one constantly in flux; sometimes it works amazingly, and sometimes it is pretty damn broken... but I think this part of the process is one of the reasons that it has such great chances.

You almost had me there on the verbose line!

And I agree - it's better to be talking and disagreeing than not talking!

And as everyone says, this is simply an experimental phase.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.20
ETH 2988.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68