On drying your nutsack with a hairdryer in public - a suitable analogy for self-voting and bid-bot use?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: On drying your nutsack with a hairdryer in public - a suitable analogy for self-voting and bid-bot use?


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

haha i can't decide which i like more your artistry or rant, either way, it was interesting and worth visiting your blog @revisesociology

Hey thanks, let's just say I won't be quitting my day-job on the back of my artistry skills.

Wow, perfect analogy. And pretty awesome, funny story as well. I admit, I'm new here, and have been using the bots. My intent is to get some reach, and followers though. I have been thinking the same thing you wrote about, though, that some users are heavily abusing this to make money, while putting out no effort to write an article. This is not what steemit is intended for, and very well could disrupt much of the progress the platform has made. Many of these articles are less than useless, yet occupy some of the top spots. I don't think my content is the best at the moment, but I am trying! Great post, certainly going to follow.

great ranty writing! The nub for me is this thing about moving between public, private and the liminal spaces between that we mistake for either one or the other. It takes all sorts to make a world. You may also have seen this bit of evidence... https://www.reddit.com/r/confession/comments/7p8puq/light_i_was_22_years_old_when_i_learned_that_not/

I hadn't come across that (I actually know very little about reddit), but I love the comment -'tell reddit your secrets, let it all out'.

Social media has definitely made it easier for (some) people to air their private views in public: sometimes to their detriment, sometimes to their massive gain!

I think the key thing is just to be measured and cautious in expressing your views. That reddit post (if it's really a confessional) is a step too far IMO.

Although NB the norms surrounding basic functions vary a lot from culture to culture - here we are with the 'no middle urinal rule', but apparently Greek soldiers (according to a Greek friend of mine) will quite happily have a communal shit, although I'm not sure I quite believe it as to my mind it'd require an highly unlikely degree of bowel co-ordination once you get beyond 2 people.

Thanks for the comment!

lol Best analogy ever

Love the comparison and kind of glad I haven’t encountered that nut drying technique

On self voting and bid bots it’s something I very seldom do but if people choose to it’s nice me of my business is my take

I think what people do in our public space is everyone's business. Otherwise, you're effectively homeless.

well yes that is a valid point

Hehehe that made me chuckle!

Why thank you, I enjoyed writing it!

I’m not sure I can get that image out of my head now....

🤣🤦🏽‍♂️

It seems there is more and more being out-spoken about this.

The problem of human nature... any time people discover something that is awesome, they exploit it for their own greed.

The solution: more real people banding together and forming communities and flagging crap posts? Banning bots?

Yes, sorry about the image. The idea just sort of came to be last night, I like a good analogy, and hopefully this is something of a cathartic antidote to the issue, which probably isn't going to go away.

Both of your suggestions are good!

I needed this today, made me laugh and no, its not ok!

Ha ha ha, a dryer he takes off the wall, or he has such big eggs?))

444.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87