A 'brief' summary of the steem blue paper: and why I've just invested another $1000 in the platform

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: A 'brief' summary of the steem blue paper: and why I've just invested another $1000 in the platform


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

I could do an edit, but I think a comment makes more sense...

Thanks for all the upvotes/ comments, but this post hasn't been rewarded highly enough for me to bother publishing the more detailed analytical summary I mentioned above.

It just doesn't make financial sense. I may as well just play @steemmonsters or video myself playing computer games.

Really good overview. Steem(it) can be really complicated if one wants to throughly understand how it works. Plus, of course it's changing all the time too.

Nice crunchy overview well targeted to readers who don't want rehash of the basics but want to learn a little deeper.

(I guess those videos are stored off the blockchain?!)
You are exactly right. Storing large amounts of data onchain is a really bad idea for most blockchain implementations. For DTube the steem blockchain stores references to (and, hashes of I believe) the videos, which are actually hosted on IPFS.

Thanks, that was the general idea. I'm starting to think that even just the text is getting a little bloated! Come to think of it, pictures aren't on chain either, are they?!

Yep, pictures are also on IPFS. It's kind of amazing that the steem blockchain is as efficient as it is, given that other chains routinely talk about adding text in the size of dozens of characters to their blocks.

Wow, you did quite a research. I am convinced that we will see adoption but steem inc do need to pay attention on steemit. It may be a experiment for them, but it's not for the masses. People who are spending hours on it, want to see it perfect.

Well it certainly wouldn't hurt the scaling up of steem if they paid some attention to sorting out steemit's issues!

Excellent article.

The blue paper doesn’t mention anything about voting power depleting over time, or about the rate at which this should be set. Maybe this is just a mistake, but it’s not in there anywhere!

Yeah, that part is in the Whitepaper, not in the Bluepaper. It's a bit more complex, but it has a lot more details about the platform.

I have skimmed the white paper, but it's a bit old now so I thought I'd start with this, also this was easier!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50