My wife-episode 21

in #steemit6 years ago

Nkechi’s surgery was successful and she was discharged after Mr Churchill paid her hospital bills.
The doctor asked them to come back to hospital today for check up. Also, because they had been demanding to see the donor, the doctor told them that they would have the opportunity to meet with her today.
So they all got ready, picked Amara up from Wuse2 and made their way to the hospital.
EBUKA: you know things happen sometimes to show you the real colours of people. I can’t believe Funmi would so easily fall in love with another man! It’s really sad it breaks me thinking of it
MADAM EBERE: but you did the same if not that Amara didn’t let you. I mean, you were already making wedding plans.
EBUKA: that’s different, mummy! I am a man!
MADAM EBERE: so what? Does owning a penis give you any right owning a vagina doesnt give her?
AMARACHI: there we go! Mama has gone outrightly vulgar to drive home a very important point. Whilst I do not support what Funmi is doing right now, I can also see her points.
She was really treated like she never mattered.
NKECHI: say what you know, Amara! Who treated her like she never mattered. She was married and still running around with men! So lazy, the only meal she can cook is that slimy nasty food of hers! Very unwilling to integrate into the culture she was married in.
Please stop playing this unpaid defence role!
I’m glad she is finally out of this family!
And I’m not going to beg you to marry Ebuka anymore.
There are many fishes in the ocean and Ebuka is a skilled fisherman, if you know what I mean!
MADAM EBERE: But Amara told us she never cheated. Whatever happened was before she met your brother!
NKECHI: oh please! Believe that and believe anything!
MADAM EBERE: Oh well, I’d still prefer a cheat over that scum of the earth you call your boyfriend?
NKECHI: enough mummy! Leave him out of this!
EBUKA: I just wish I can undo a lot of things. I wish I can have MY WIFE back. She was the perfect soul mate. She stood by me when her parents wouldn’t give their consent.
She was willing to be with me at all cost!
NKECHI: oh stop the pity party and concentrate on the road! Mtchewww!
MADAM EBERE: how dare you speak to your elder brother like that! Are you going crazy! Thank your stars I’m in the front seat, you would have received a fantastic right hand of fellowship this morning. Ara na agba gi!(you Are crazy)
NKECHI: I’ll buy credit on our way home and tell brother Chinwendu how all of you turned against me?
MADAM EBERE: oh shut up and grow up!!
(They got to the hospital and Nkechi had her check up. Then the doctor asked them to come into a designated hall in the building. They all got there and sat down)
DOCTOR: Nkechi, I’m glad your wound is healing quite fast. You have actually made a better recovery than your donor.
She is still on antibiotics and her wounds are still very fresh.
I know you can’t wait to see her, but please be gentle on her. Okay?
NKECHI: I pray I am able to hold myself
DOCTOR: you must. Alright, guys I’ll go and get her.
(The doctor opened the a double door in the hall and Funmi supported on one side by Zain and on the other side by Chika, came through. For a moment, nobody said a word…)
DOCTOR: here is Zainab, the very kindhearted donor who gave you a life.
AMARACHI: wait! Am I dreaming??? Funmi?? Chika?? Zain????? what is this?
EBUKA: can someone explain to us what is going on! I’m going insane! Funmi, what’s this movie about?? Are you truly the donor??
NKECHI: somebody talk to us!!! Funmi, d-i-d y-o-u donate yo..ur..kid-ney…to..to..me??
MADAM EBERE: hieeeee! Chineke!!!!
FUNMI: (starts crying)???
ZAIN: (gently helps her to sit down) guys, I met this lady broken. When I said broken, I meant every alphabet in that word.
The most interesting part was that she still loved the people who broke her.
Like a rose she still was willing to leave a sweet smell on the shoes that crushed her.
Honestly, when I met her, I wanted to date her. I loved her in that sense. But one day I went swimming with her, a swimming that actually never happened. She poured out her heart to me.
She couldn’t go back to her parents. Her only life was her work life.
The treatment she got from you, she didn’t deserve but thank God for people like this lady right her (points at Amara) she is an angel. She sheltered her, gave her every emotional and financial support she could afford
EBUKA: Amara! Even you??? You told me you have never seen Funmi!!!
AMARACHI: ??? when I realised you were going to send her out of the house, I had to find a way to get money from you and paid for a house in Wuse2
I also wasn’t sure if she would retain her job, so i got money out of you to start a shoe business for her.
Although I told her we owned the business jointly, I actually registered it in your name and her name.
I have never used a penny of the profit on myself. I’ve got all the expenses written down. I used some to buy things for Funmi on her birthday and some I used to pay for Nkechi’s dialysis when you couldn’t afford it. I have all the documents with me.
DOCTOR: wow!
NKECHI:???? (kneels in front of Funmi) Funmi, you mean you gave me this life I am living now. Why? Despite everything I did to you? How is this possible?
How did you know I needed a kidney?
Why are you so kind. Why? Why Funmi? I hated you, and I never failed to show it whenever and wherever the opportunity presented itself
FUNMI: ???
NKECHI: say something to me? why????? how could you be such a sweet soul!
FUNMI: please stand up, remember your wounds are not completely healed. Being married to your brother meant you became my sister.
I am an only child and always wanted a sister. When I first met you, I was so excited but things didn’t work out the way I had thought.
But again, even real sister don’t always get along but that doesn’t mean they are not sisters.
I’m so happy to see you alive and well. I couldn’t have watched you suffer and die.
Amarachi, you are more righteous than I can ever be. Your acts of kindness made me do this. I wanted to pass it on in the hope that Nkechi would pass it on too so that it will carry on until the world becomes a better place.
A place full of love and kindness. A place where a person’s tribe, religion, race and colour does not determine how they are treated.
It starts with me…..
EBUKA:(hugs Funmi) I believed a lie. I never wanted to leave you but this lie came with strong and convincing evidence. I wanted to marry Amara just to get back at you and I was going to abandon her after wedding and go to France for good.
I had all my plans in place but this lady right here (points to Amara) is something else!
CHIKA: (gets down on one knee with a diamond ring in his hand) dear beloved girlfriend, Amara. I’ve been waiting for the perfect day, the perfect time and the perfect moment. What could be more perfect than now!
I remember our first date at a swimming pool, a baby nearly drowned and you quickly dived in and saved her. Since that day, you have never stopped stepping into the dirtiest mud even if it puts your life and reputation at risk.
You are the best of your kind, baby. Please will you marry me?
EBUKA: she is supposed to be your sister!!! Seriously what is going on! Who has the remote of the TV please change this channel! Amara!!!
AMARACHI: oh! My God!!! (Hugs Chika) yes I will!!!????
Ebuka, I wasn’t lying when I told you I was an only child. You were too angry to register it in your brains and Nkechi was bent on getting rid of Funmi that she didn’t remember to ask how I suddenly had a brother hehehehe! We were all playing each other
DOCTOR: guys, I’ve seen the most painful of deaths but trust me, none made me cry as much as you guys did!
My hope in humanity is restored!!
EBUKA: Do I have MY
WIFE back?
FUNMI: the question should be, do I have MY husband back?
To be continuedScreenshot_20181008-193959.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74