You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AI is stupid: Humans Judgment Matters

in #steemit7 years ago

I think you have some great ideas here. I too despise all these bots as I personally cannot point to a single bot that has benefited me. They just get in my way. I think your idea of mediating new account applications with a "Human Verification" type plugin should have some merit and needs to be looked into. Anyway, you need to check out @JerryBanfield 's recent post Steem Budget Proposals -whitepaper because you are a good candidate for submitting a "budget proposal" (should this concept be adopted).

Sort:  

Human verification barely works on the level of tools (Steemit) and cannot keep bots off the blockchain. I think bot operators are going to strangle the goose if they don't ensure their bots are adding value to the community. There isn't really any way around it except to economically starve the worst bot operators and appeal the humanity (and long-term ROI) for the other bot runners.
As for usefulness; I like to think my two bots add value to the community. They both give me more time to be human here; one at the cost of some quality-efficiency I'll grant. But, they quietly go about their business without bothering anybody with comment spam.
Thanks for the links to the Budget Proposals. I'll read it when I have some time to digest it properly.

Didn't I read recently that a neural net recently surpassed the accuracy of humans when reading numbers? Pretty soon we'll have to guess who isn't the bot based on who performed statistically similar to a human, rather than better at some task.

There's some awesome work in this area. MNIST numbers is one of those standard datasets used in machine learning. But, recognising a symbol is orders of magnitude simpler than recognising very abstract things like quality.

Yeah, I was only speaking in regards to tests that one might put on posting or registration.

What two Bots do you run?

I programmed my own clerk bot and it runs on a Raspberry PI clone sitting on my desk. The other bot is a FOSSBot running on Heroku: I occasionally look at the votes and tweak the settings.

Ha, I have no idea what those do!

A clerk is like a book-keeper or accountant. I used steemjs to make a program that periodically checks my accounts and performs various "move the money about" actions.
FOSSBot is an automated upvote bot. You give it the criteria and it goes looking for matching posts and then it upvotes them. You can run FOOSBot on a free account on the cloud service provider Heroku.

Thanks for the education!

I think writer should follow your advise because you make some solid judgement .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49