Thoughts on alter egos here on steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago

If you were following a user that posted nothing but tech articles 24/7 and out of the blue they posted something that didn't vibe with you how would you feel? Do you think alternate users should be created for such a thing? I feel as though I should have two different users for the stuff I plan to post so as not to offend or tarnish the taste for the followers.

Any thoughts?

Sort:  

My alter ego @steemdrive thinks it's a good idea! :)

I agree! :)

I think steemit should just finish releasing the necessary User Account tools that would allow user to manage their blog themselves. Asking or expecting users to create multiple accounts is just dumb and should be hindered.

If Steemit just added a Show in Blog\Don't Show in Blog setting for every post, you could have both a focused topic blog and still post fun\random things.

I think that what you just wrote there is like saling youself to the public. You are who you are and you dont have to think what is going to offend or tanish the taste for the followers. If you write tech articles but suddenly you want to write about the butterflies you felt today when you saw that beautifull girl on the subway, I would be totally fine with that. I would even like you more if you are able to talk or write about many different things with a personal touch.

I like that any content is welcome. Before when blogging it felt as though I had to cater to my readers and now its just what I want to post about. Thanks for the insight :)

I for one would rather see the person being the person. Some of their 'main hobby' or occupation, other posts on other interests of theirs. It's the only way that this becomes 'social' media. People have to be themselves and let others get to know them.

I feel as though posting as yourself is the only way to maintain authenticity and transparency as an individual. Holding separate accounts would then white-wash the very idea of such.

Yeah, I dont wanna see what kind of zoo this would become if they allowed multiple user registration.

i guess i could see that getting hairy quick.

Disagree, post what you post and see if people want to follow you. If you want to post something that you think will deter your audience, dont post it.. We need to keep things tight and users as verified as possible!

Or just post it but tag it differently in the title, so people can differentiate from your blogpost list what they want to read and what not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72