Bot-baiting, a basic analysis. - Is there such thing as a bot threat?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Today, I'm moving a bit out of my usual authoring genre to talk about something that triggered my curiosity: Steemit bots.

I've been running an experiment at steemit for a while, one that measures how hard does "the Bot threat" strike in the network.
Does it really make an impact on human users? Do they take away potential benefits and/or readers?

Well, around 12 hours ago I made a "bait" post. The one consisted on a series of "random" words picked off a basic chatbot neural network, separated by punctuation marks but with no sense at all (I had her "smart" part of the brain switched off, since I took for granted that upvote bots did not take that into consideration).
This was made based on a series of theories:
Upvote bots (lets call them "curation farmers", CF for short) would take into consideration "quality", quantity is not a synonym of such, yet still today in the 21st century some people believe such thing. The CF would take the wordcount into consideration. Some words repeated themselves from time to time, as in any natural language.
Part of the "quality" would also be the embedded data included at the article, thus, I chose 3 robot pictures to "throw in" there, for the sake of bot-credibility.
I also added 5 tags, the "trendy" tags, hoping that the CF would actually monitor such; given that the trend remains a trend for way too long (yes people, Justin g̶a̶y̶ Bieber is still a trend; he wont gain vocal amplitude by a miracle) in what we know as herd behavior.

The game was on!

During the last hours, some CF's bit the bait. They are (sadly) 20% of my followers. And, from what I could observe at other smurf accounts, some don't literally "follow" the authors, yet they keep them listed at their database.
Primitive bots, if you ask me. They probably use a Flesch-Kincaid readability test to "value" an article. Yet nothing beats humans at reading text... Yet (well, maybe Watson does; if the sample text is large enough).

Do they have a real "impact"?
Luckily, from what I was able to measure; no, they don't. Their vote weight is so low, they cant even make an article be worth 0.01 by voting. They are "farming" at a very low speed.
It looks, in my point of view, that other than loading the steem blockchain, all they do is create false statistics, and perhaps trigger "human" herd behavior by giving a higher score at steemit's listing.
Their automated articles are, literally, shit. Even my word mashup article had more relevance than their not-indexed pictures. Yes, some of them create what in other networks is known as copypasta. Awful content stolen from Cyrillic language websites, and poorly translated by google's or bing's translators.

Yet, human cattle's weight of votes is ALSO low: Irrelevant.

Is bot hunting a witch-hunt?
As long as the real, human, original, authors keep the feedback among themselves; bots will be nothing else but an appendix at the huge database. Something that HAS to eventually be removed, but that keeps the organism (steemit) alive in case of a major catastrophe (massive emigration of users).

Bots should not be a concern: I take my words back. The impact they represent is so low, and it becomes so underrated by the community. That I'm surprised people waste time running them.

There "may" be exceptions to my observations, yet, how many automated authors/curators make it to the top 1000 users? Keeping the proportions, we end up laughing about script kiddies.

Neither the bots or the "creators" are entities smart enough so that we should be concerned about.

Sort:  

Hello renzoarg, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave. We are currently in alpha testing, if you would like more info join robinhood chat on steemit.chat or pm @repholder.

Nice Work - Keep on Steeming!

If you would like to promote another author please join robinhood-links

"ONLY post other people's work (Please check if the author has already been featured in the pinned spreedsheet) - These are posts to be considered by curators of the Robin Hood Whale initiative. ONLY post links once!"

Anything that encourages authoring and active users is something you should consider me "in" by default. I'll be for sure checking it out as soon as I'm back home.

Yeah, I agree - we're still on this level of technology, where you better hire online a bunch of teenagers who's going to read, curate and/or write some texts, leaving bots behind.
Bots are very good for trading tho, but for Steemit they're like herpes - everybody have it, no one is really hurt😏

"Bots are very good for trading tho, but for Steemit they're like herpes - everybody have it, no one is really hurt"
Epic comment.

Interesting stuff. Keep on going

Personally I have absolutely no problem with non-malicious bots running on the steem network and I have seen a number of examples of useful bots running on here as well.. So yea :P Love your writes bro keep up the good.

I think, that BOT's have the right of beeing. If you, as a software developer, are able to create a bot that is able to clasify content that it is likeable by other users, why not let them be? Anyway, there is a much bigger problem: If both authors and curators were BOTs and they would represent the mayority of the user base., they will be up-voiting their own computer generated content (only likeable by the algorithms) and therefore the BOT community would get higher SP than the human community. The BOTs will take over, first, steemit, and second the world.
Scaryy.....

Try the tag bot next time :)

I wonder, where the inspiration came from ...

Nice post !

Bots should not be a concern: I take my words back. The impact they represent is so low, and it becomes so underrated by the community. That I'm surprised people waste time running them.

I couldnt agree more, the whole bot discussion is meaningless.. I am actually making more from curation by voting on my feed early than I ever was with my bot.

Well, thank you sir. You just ruined the purpose of my next experiment. Now that I know the results :D

Non-bot comment
Interesting perspective you have presented here. Have kind of wondered about some to some degree but wouldn't think they had too much of an overall effect on things.

I think the curating reward should depend also on time that it take to read a post. This will definetely will solve a problem with automated curating. But we also need better content menu on steemit. Too much content left unread simply because of lack of time.

I just read my post in less than 35 seconds... What would you consider that a "normal" timing?

@renzoarg , it is not about your post. It's about first 2 hours a post on steemit is published. If a post is not voted much first 2 hours, it rarely will be voted till the end of 24 hours. Almost everybody who vote wantd to get as much curating reward as possible but the number of votes dramatically decreases after first 2 hours after the post is published. And who from steemers read the posts written more than a day ago? Nobody, because it is better to read fresh post and possibly get reward. It is very bad from my point of view.

I definitely agree with this. It is a pity because very good posts got forgotten and almost no one cares.

(Sometimes I also vote for post more than 2 days after they are released... :p)

Let's hope that in final version of steemit this thing will be fixed :)

Oh, you mean the "lapsus" between the publishing and the voting; not the reading time.

Yes, the voting reward are akward now. I hope the developers will change it some day.

Extremely interesting study you've done here.
Upvote and a follow for me.
Great Job! Thank You!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97