You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The @abit experiment

in #steemit8 years ago

I am neutral on the experiment, but in the absence of supporting data, this is absurd.

There are many people in the community that feel strongly that the current distribution of stake is preventing the platform from scaling to billions of users

My son and I have recruited 10 or 12 people to the platform. None (so far) have sustained activity, and none care about the rewards distribution. The concerns expressed have been about usability and intimidation (i.e not knowing what to write about).

Sort:  

That is good news! I am happy to hear that new users are joining aren't finding major issues with the platform. That's a big change from where we were 6-9 months ago.

Getting users to actually invest SP though is still a very big hurdle. Would any of them consider actually putting money into the platform? If the answer is 'no', I'd be curious to know why.

Would any of them consider actually putting money into the platform? If the answer is 'no', I'd be curious to know why.

I have no idea. It's not something that I ask people. I guess probably not, since they haven't even become active users (yet?). The whole point of linking social media with the block chain is so that people can buy into steem with their time instead of money, so I don't expect most new steemit users to buy SP any more than I expect most new Facebook users to buy advertising or shares in Facebook.

Sure, understood. I was merely asking the question because the stake problem that the experiment is aimed at is targeted at the problem of bringing in new investment. There are very few people who want to buy stake in the platform right now, because "what's the point". More investment is needed in order to pay for the rewards that drive the platform.

If nothing else, I think the experiment will be interesting. Not sure how useful though, without seeing the design. I am a little concerned that it has an ad-hoc feel to it.

As to, "what's the point," to a large extent, I think investment will follow eyeballs and eyeballs will follow usability. Also, more users would reduce liquidity, which would also drive up prices. IMHO, If investors don't see a point, it's probably because the UI isn't drawing in eyeballs.

Anyway, I am curious to watch the experiment play out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67801.51
ETH 2617.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72