You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit: A Platform About Content, SP Delegation or Daily Diaries? | Part 1

in #steemit5 days ago

Brief random thoughts, 'cause I'm pressed for time. I'll try to watch the conversation during the next couple days and chime in again when I can.

1.) It doesn't have to be either/or. The delegation for vote business wouldn't be so harmful if a front end provided a way to reduce its visibility. Just because those posts exist doesn't mean that they need to be the first thing someone sees when they visit the site. (for example, see here for a view from @the-gorilla that filters out the bot votes).

2.) The delegation for vote process is basically just equivalent to proof of stake mining. So, it could be thought of as a baseline for investors. But, as your post suggests, if everyone did this it would completely eliminate the social-media purpose of the platform and there would be nothing left to distinguish it from hundreds of other blockchains. The initial investment would then become valueless. Long term investors should demand better.

3.) My (untested/unproven) theory is that the best use of investment here is actually some sort of combination of these strategies as a communications channel for some other business/non-profit. Rewards + audience is better than rewards alone. For example, let's say I run a nightclub, and I want to create a buzz for my business. What could I do?

  1. Big investment in Steem.
  2. Instruct my employees to post club-related content when they have idle time.
  3. Have a promotion for customers to "check in" by posting selfies in the club.
  4. Reward those posts with my highly funded votes.
  5. Share those posts on my web site, facebook, twitter, etc..
  • Now, instead of paying for advertising, I'm getting paid to do it (interest and curation rewards) - or at least offsetting part of the cost to purchase reach on the other platforms.

If my theory is right, and any business owner ever figures out how to leverage it, I guess that'll put an end to the spammy delegation-bot posts. Unfortunately, I don't have the financial means to test my theory. 😞

4.) I've been here for 8 years, and this has been a persistent discussion topic. Lots of ideas, but implementing anything is definitely a herding cats problem.

5.) On one hand, I agree with this:

I think some individuals are not being taken care of on this site, and I'm not even talking about myself.

But on the other hand, even as unbalanced as it is, small payouts are still more than people get from most platforms - and the people who do grind it out generally start seeing bigger payouts.

6.) I definitely agree with this:

I, for one, am hoping the site can eventually shift to a place where content is king, and in that place, I think we all would enjoy it and get more out of it.

To get there, I think we need to (re)build our development community and we also need to have some people who are good at herding cats. 😉

7.) Right now, daily new STEEM production is at it's peak levels on the inflation curve. Barring rule/parameter changes by the witnesses, it will be going down by ~75% or more over the next 12 years (90K per day to 22K per day). To me, it's an open question what this will mean for the delegation bots and their clients.

8.) Lastly before I have to run, I think your point about the importance of the American market as investors and consumers is very important. I have been asked, several times, to take a more active roll with building an American community but I just can't do it due to my professional and family obligations. I was very happy to see your application, and I hope you get approved.

Sort:  

I checked out that view and like it 100% more, although I might still have questions about the system of what gets filtered out: Are there posts that could potentially be falsely flagged by an algorithm? I'm just curious, is all.

1.) It doesn't have to be either/or. The delegation for vote business wouldn't be so harmful if a front end provided a way to reduce its visibility. Just because those posts exist doesn't mean that they need to be the first thing someone sees when they visit the site. (for example, see here for a view from @the-gorilla that filters out the bot votes).

I think you are on to something here. My first thought was that this chain would be perfect for a business owner who could make a sizable investment, delegate large amounts of power to several of his employees, share newsletters/posts with them, and have everyone upvote.

If my theory is right, and any business owner ever figures out how to leverage it, I guess that'll put an end to the spammy delegation-bot posts. Unfortunately, I don't have the financial means to test my theory. 😞

The issue I foresee here is the patience level. Small payouts work for those in the long game, but this could also be another reason why the site does not have a major US following. Americans want instant gratification. While they don't mind paying for something, they'll also abandon it fairly fast if it's going nowhere or moving too slowly.

But on the other hand, even as unbalanced as it is, small payouts are still more than people get from most platforms - and the people who do grind it out generally start seeing bigger payouts.

Perfectly said!

To get there, I think we need to (re)build our development community, and we also need to have some people who are good at herding cats. 😉

Less STEEM should = higher price, right? I'm no developer (much respect to those who are), so I'm not versed in everything here, but this means the price should gradually rise over those 12 years, correct?

7.) Right now, daily new STEEM production is at its peak levels on the inflation curve. Barring rule/parameter changes by the witnesses, it will be going down by ~75% or more over the next 12 years (90K per day to 22K per day). To me, it's an open question what this will mean for the delegation bots and their clients.

Thank you, sir.

I was very happy to see your application, and I hope you get approved.

I checked out that view and like it 100% more, although I might still have questions about the system of what gets filtered out: Are there posts that could potentially be falsely flagged by an algorithm? I'm just curious, is all.

Glad you like it 🙂

For the bot users, I have a list of known voting bots (which probably needs updating) and then every 12 (or 24, I can't quite remember) hours, a list of users who have delegated to each voting bot is updated.

For the blacklisted authors, there are a few possibilities - they might post plagiarised content, they most post shit / lazy content or I might just dislike them. I basically blacklist people / content that most would consider to be trash (I've also not updated this list for a while).

For blacklisted tags - these are posts filtered out that have used a hashtag that is known to attract a high level of shit content. It might be a specific community or simply the #krsuccess tag. Like all of the lists mentioned, they're maintained manually so I haven't updated them recently.

There's still quite a lot of low quality content seeping through but the current options filters out about 60% of existing content on Steemit (I can't remember the exact amount but I remember it being more than half of all posts)!

There's still quite a lot of low quality content seeping through but the current options filters out about 60% of existing content on Steemit (I can't remember the exact amount but I remember it being more than half of all posts)!

Do you know what the breakdown is in terms of rewards, i.e. how much of the reward pool is going to that 60% of content you think would be better off hidden?

Great question. At the moment, I don’t have an answer but I should be able to add a calculation to the code and find out.

The issue I foresee here is the patience level. Small payouts work for those in the long game, but this could also be another reason why the site does not have a major US following. Americans want instant gratification.

True. My thought has always been that people do FB and Twitter for free, so we need apps here that would be able to draw people at scale, even if there were no rewards. No idea how to really accomplish that, though. The rewards always seem to sit front and center.

Less STEEM should = higher price, right? I'm no developer (much respect to those who are), so I'm not versed in everything here, but this means the price should gradually rise over those 12 years, correct?

I'd say that it probably puts upwards pressure on the price, but there are also many other factors in play, so there are no guarantees. If you want to see what the curve looks like (last quarter), you can check here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57530.32
ETH 2439.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37