You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The trouble with SBDs - a poll

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm mostly agnostic but lean towards being a pegger, so that's how I voted.

There are a lot of moving parts, but from tracking my curation rewards in recent weeks, it seems that the high SBD price may be having a slightly negative impact on curation rewards (for voters who don't focus on self-voting, anyway). IMO, Steem/steemit needs quality voters more than easy-money spammers. High SBD does nothing to encourage voters to search for the "diamond in the rough," but it may be discouraging that behavior.

I also agree that if it can't be pegged reliably, then it's unnecessary complexity, and should probably just be scrapped.

Sort:  

Wow again, a great point that I hadn't thought of, awesome to hear of your experience (though, you know, not an awesome experience). Glad also to see that it's not such a wild idea to scrap it if not working as described.

Hey all, I'm pretty sure the SBD price does not affect payout. Please see my latest post for my thoughts about that.

I read somewhere that the witnesses have shifted payouts from 50/50 to 65/35 in order to try to restore the peg. Not sure if that impacts curation rewards, though.

Either way, I'm pretty sure that high SBD prices affect voting behavior. You only earn SBD if you're an author, so it's just more incentive to vote for yourself instead of someone else.

The way they shift it is by adjusting their price feed up, so yes. I didn't quite understand when they first mentioned it. However, they need enough witnesses to follow suit for that to take effect and I don't believe it happened (or my interpretation of the median is wrong).

Agreed on your interpretation of affecting voting behavior though.

No you're right, those parameters are set my median consensus.

Wow...money money money....i newd money we need money...all about moneyzzzzzzzz....jajajajjajaaj

Follow ke plzzzzz

@medica

MillionS thankzZZZZZZZ

Wow...money money money....i newd money we need money...all about moneyzzzzzzzz....jajajajjajaaj

Follow ke plzzzzz

@medica

MillionS thankzZZZZZZZ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51