Monetized Social Media

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

When I first learned of steemit, concepts such as universal basic income, sharing economy and monetized social media came to mind. I thought I could somehow summon my pathetic writing skills to complement my passive income.

This idea of monetizing social media is not entirely new. A few months back, I joined Tsu.co - a social media platform similar to Facebook trying to distribute income to their content creators and Reddit also tried to do the same by attempting to create their own digital currency, also for monetizing the contribution of their members. I believe that with the development of blockchain technology, it's time for these social media companies to share its value to the very lifeblood of their companies - the public who are using their platform. I was hoping these platforms would succeed and Facebook would follow. Unfortunately one platform didn't work out and the other one didn't even started (if I'm not wrong due to change in management direction).

With steemit, I'm crossing my fingers that they would succeed so the sharing economy would start to propagate and provide a complimentary source of income to the masses. : )

Sort:  

Is tsu.co still open?

permanently taken offline, website says.
don't know what went wrong, but Tsu.co could be a good case study
maybe the steemit idea of having different tokens could be an improvement

Great piece. Happy to upvote, following and looking forward to reading more of your posts. Catch us also on Twitter Twitter✔. Cheers. Stephen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43