You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey Steemit Family!! What was YOUR 1st blog post you authored on here, and WHY? | E.8 | Post it!! | Community Engagement Series.

in #steemit7 years ago

My first Steemit post was actually a repost of a piece I'd written for my personal blog -- Redhens.ca. I'd started that blog while on maternity leave because I wanted to challenge myself with a new medium and keep my writing skills in practice.

Funnily enough, I just shut the blog down last week. I'm heading back to my full-time job soon. I wanted to simplify my life and make time for other writing projects/goals. Something had to give.

Fortunately, I've found that Steemit offers me everything I wanted from a personal blog and more. Becoming involved in this site has been a wonderful learning opportunity and the five months that I've been here have certainly flown by. It's kind of nice to reflect on what things were like when I first started. Great idea!

Sort:  

Hey @redhens, nice connecting here! I also repurposed one of my old blog posts (a true wilderness "survival" adventure if you're interested https://steemit.com/travel/@jobsande/surviving-a-15-mile-hike-on-a-spoonfull-of-peanut-butter), although my first post was my intro post like the others mentioned above.

Congrats on heading back to the FT job world! I'm there too, it's definitely not "easy" sometimes to squeeze in Steemit time in addition since my job for a software company is also 100% online, and I like being active and away from the screen, but I do my best.

Are you planning on continuing with Steemit when you start the job?

Also I do know a bunch of folks who maintain their Steemit account as an extra channel/ in addition to their own blog/site. Might be too much work though with you soon to be working full time :P

Yep, I'm planning to stick with Steemit, but I'm like you -- I like to have some time away from the screen. I've been writing a lot of posts about writing and editing for Steemit, and I'm currently working on a website/blog where I can reshare and archive that content. The one challenge with Steemit is that the stuff we create here seems to have a short shelf life. But I think Steemit and the new site will be enough to manage for a while, which is why I gave up my "fun" blog.

I'll check out your post. Peanut butter and hiking -- sounds like a good time! Lol!

Ah yeah, trust me with a FT j-o-b, the website and Steemit will be PLENTY of work, hah. Actually a pretty cool idea with having that blog to share what you post on Steem. The "traditional" view , or at least how I thought of it seems to be blog first, Steem second...I'll have to consider that moving forward as I start posting more here (I've resolved not to post too often for the near future in favor of commenting, until I can build up a bit more traction - something I wrote about https://steemit.com/help/@jobsande/best-steemit-newbie-strategy-posting-vs-commenting).

True about the short shelf life, yep that is the big downside to taking a ton of time crafting a well-thought out post, editing, etc only to have it get 10 views, a couple quick comments, then be forgotten. This is exactly why I'm sticking to 95% commenting for now.

Thanks, it was my buddy and it was quite the experience :P I did go through something similar myself though, might have to make that a future post...

I have not heard from you in so long LOL, it is nice to see your name again and hear your stories.

Funny, on my #DigitalDetox series here, I just said maybe 5 mins ago --- in a reply I am desiring and working hard to actually simplify my life.

Good luck and best wishes with your job (again, LOL)

(:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49