Steemit Family Time

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Conversation Starters

My Mom Couldn't Cook!

I will be posting one conversation starter a day for the next 50 days. Come and talk with me and my friends. Practice your English if you are struggling and we will help you improve through example and kindness. My Daughter bought this activity game for her children and I thought this would be fun to play with on Steemit.

First Opener



My Grandma taught me how to garden and preserve all kinds of food. My Grandpa and Uncles hunted the Pacific Northwest forest for deer and elk and fished the Pacific Ocean for salmon, crabs, and flounder. My favorite foods were her walnuts and hazelnuts she picked and dried. She could cook and can anything, but I will always remember her basement full of canned Bing cherries and dried nuts.

I would stay with Grandma Dorthy, my Mother's-Mother and crack dried walnuts and eat her canned cherries from her trees she had growing in her backyard.

My Grandpa and Grandma lived in North Portland, Oregon and had a huge two story "salmon pink" house. Yeah the house was an ugly color but it was well cared for. Everything was neat, clean and the grass was always cut perfectly.

Keeping the lawn trimmed was Grandpa's job, he ran a car body shop with my two Uncles and Grandma sewed clothing for people she had known for ever. Grandma made enough money sewing clothes to buy a house and flip it. With that money she bought another house and did the same thing until the day she passed. Grandpa died first in his 80s over 20 years ago. Grandma lived until she was in her early 90s and passed eight years ago. Between the two they lived a happy comfortable life. They weren't rich but they were secure and happy working for themselves.


some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

family time we have in Morocco an awesome foood ( couscous )

@hero7, what was your favorite food made by your Mom or Grandma?

couscous is my favorite foood i love it

@askmee shared the dish and I know how to make it...so yummy!

wow ... very interesting post @reddust

@ghiyats, what was your favorite food made by your Mother or Grandmother?

This is my favorite if the mother makes

IMG20180221083425.jpg

@ghiyats, give me the name so I can look them up...

I am learning so much and having a blast..thank you <3

Makanan Indonesia kan? I saw food like this when I lived in Indonesia.

My grandmother was always the cook within the household! She made so many traditional Mediterranean meals, and my mom tried to learn but never could!

@snrm, ohhhh mediterranean food, some of my favorite, share one dish with me so I can look it up! I cook often for my daughter to give her a break and I love to cook for my grandchildren.

great, I'm interested in practice, and if it's family

Yes your are part of our Steemit family @elfrances185. What is your favorite food by your Mom or Grandma?

We ate shellfish as well, but not one of my favorites....We would go to the Oregon coast and dig them out of our beaches...We had some really big ones that looked like cow tongue....they were so ugly but tasted amazing breaded and fried. I can't remember the shell fish name .... :-(

even so it's fine, tasted this delight

Wow...Good staring job @reddust. My favorite food is fruit salad my mother made. Thanks to my mom.
Waiting to see join more steemit family members with you.

@kingsberry what kind of salad? I can't wait to see who will play with us!

Banana, Pineapple, mango mixed salad.

Oh, my mouth just started watering, I would love some fruit salad <3

sure...It's glad to hear @reddust.

this is great, every woman should be able to cook.
because the woman is a housewife.
good post @reddust.

What is your favorite food or meal made by your Grandma or Mother @jasonmunapasee?

Indomie use eggs, hahahaha

Yummy.jpg

Oh My Goodness, that looks so yummy and some of my favorite ingredients too!

https://cookingwithmamamiyuki.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/internet-indomie-telor-kornet/

Are you eating that yummy food now? I should of ate dinner before I started this blog....hahaha

Wah lezat bangget! Did you add a lot of cabe?

@reddust, some of my favorite food from Indonesia is Indomie. I am glad that there is an Asian market in our city. My children love it when we treat them with Indomie.

good morning my best friend.
am i included in your family .... ??

If you can put up with me, you surely are....hahaha (hugs)

What's your favorite food your Mom or your Grandmother made?

I really like the jengkol .... haahhahaahhaahaahha lol (hugs)

Does it look like this? I read if you don't cook it right you'll get sick and it gives you bad breath :p hahaha

440px-Pithecellobium_jiringa.JPGhttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Archidendron_pauciflorum

IMG_20180221_090400.JPG

this is more perfect. hahahahha

That's what I found tooserveimage.jpeg

ha ha ha ha...
lol.
sorry I just replied to it I just woke up

My Mom wasn't much of a cook when I was young but improved over time. She eventually made the best turkey dinners with stuffing to die for.

Stuffed turkey always brings back memories of the holidays...I couldn't cook either when I first started feeding my family but I remembered my Grandma's example, if she could do it so could I...

wow even you also donate your steem doller to the poor people.nice thats great.i saw your image.thank you very much for donating to the poor people.

@blueorgy79, I grew up in a Christian culture even though I am Buddhist. Both traditions teach that real wealth comes from giving. I have reached my goal with my blog and account so now I practice giving. I am still learning how to be generous...

What is your favorite food your Mom or Grandma made?

My favorite food is Date cake made by mom.
Very best task you organized for improve English to steemians.
Keep going...Steemit will help you.

Thank you @madushanka, I love anything made with dates <3

Sound being awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04