Steemit Curation; A community question.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

...So I have read a lot of information on it, but there are still some unanswered questions.

1.) If I am the (for example), 20th person to vote... But, my Steempower is enough to put me ahead of 15 others, would I be in the top 5 and get a curation payout?

2.) If someone votes on a post within 10 seconds, which triggers the author to get most of the reward... And then I vote at the 30 minute peak window, does the author still get the bigger piece of the pie, or is it based individually?

3.) Do only the top 5 get rewards? Or is it scaled down further?

I have tried finding all I could on this, to no avail. Any links sent, will be read... And appreciated :)

I am trying to learn all I can about this platform.

_Rob

steemit-question3a320.png

Sort:  

I also have one question.
If i am the first to vote to a post that gets 150 upvotes and 100$ and i have no steem power except what i have begun with...do i still get something?

Good question, that's exactly what I am wondering.

If this is the case, I guess there is no point in trying to curate, unless you have a heavy Steempower balance.

_Rob

This all changed by now!

What did it change to? Anyone know?

This all changed by now!

English is not my first language so i dont fully understand the contexts, maybe you get it better from these links.

Thanks, I am watching it now... If any of these questions are answered, I will let you know.

_Rob

Seems that, in this video... He is speaking of what to look for, and the timing of a vote.

For instance, don't ever vote on trending if you are looking for curation rewards.

You should search in the 'new' tag and find content that is well written, that you think will become popular.

For the timing, try to find great content, that was posted 8+ minutes ago... To maximize your curation.

Hope this helps you understand a bit more.

Thanks a lot for the link!

_Rob

Thanks, still to figure out about that steem power and how it works on curation.

Awesome post with some great questions! Thanks for doing all this research! I will be checking back to see if you find any more answers.

I will dig up some good material for all of us, and write a layman's guide. =)

I posted on this recently... my response is that if you have very little steem power (like nearly all of us), it really doesn't matter... just upvote people mostly that are in the 30s,40s, and 50s of rep, they are the ones that need your support and encouragement mostly // PEACE

I don't all this things apply. As long as curate a post before the 7days deadline you will get rewarded.

The FAQ section explains some of this. But I am still confused about some things. I tend to comment first and then up vote newer posts that I think will get big.. that way my vote is usually after 5 minutes or so. I think you would benefit the most if you found posts after 20 minutes or so that were worth like .50 then they blow up to around $50 after your upvote. But that's difficult to time, so I don't worry about it too much. I think it's most important to find content that is worthy of an upvote and curate those posts

Thanks @drewley

I am mainly curious about being the 6th voter, and having more steempower than the first 5... Would that put you ahead of them, in curation rewards?

For instance,

svf2.jpg

On your post,

  • I was late to see it until it had over $100.
  • I voted @ 100% voting power and was the 5th name
  • Now, I am the 6th name, and those before me have more voting power.

...So, you can bump people off? Or does it just show votes according to voting power?

Congratulations again, BTW!

_Rob

Actually just found out about curation this evening, also.

Yea they always put the most powerful upvotes at the top. And yea I post in the open mic competition every week.. usually Saturday or Sunday. Some of the piano pieces do really well, but it all depends on if some whales upvote it or not.

And... If you wait for 20 minutes like you suggest, but there were already 2 people ahead of you that voted at the one minute mark... Would that reduce your curation rewards, even though you waited?

_Rob

That's what I don't know. All of the curators should get a portion of the 25% of the post pay out. I just don't know how it splits it up

Thanks for the insight.

I am still searching for rock-solid info and will let every one know when I find the correct rules.

_Rob

I think it is very interesting that it is so complicated , being hard to exploit it makes it more fun and gives you a sense of accomplishment when you find out. I am counting on you Carter to bring light in this issue :P

Congratulations @rcarter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85