You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I’m About Ready To Quit Steemit: The Disillusionment Slingshot Onwards To Greener Pastures...

in #steemit8 years ago

Rok, I sort of know you from a while back so I understand when you're coming from.
Still, you seem to miss the most important part of steemit: CURATION. That is: you vote on what YOU like and in doing so [ maybe even re-steem? ] you influence where the money goes. That's one of the biggest thing you can do for the community.
IVoting power 100.0000% [ <--- that's yours.
Sorry, but you are not being truthful here imho. Instead of denouncing a guy for getting money that you no longer get, and arguing that you are right because your views are being confirmed by other person in the same situation, how about you use your upvotes and actually do something with all that SP you worked so hard for?

Sort:  

Yeah, I can understand. rok could make a difference by allocating votes. At the very least, let Curie or one of the other curation guilds use it to help the lower paying posts. IMO, even if he's leaving, that would be a good idea, to help level the field a bit.

there was a point in time where I was stoked on being able to throw some voting power behind posts I found value in.

at this point, when a vote is worth like $0.15, the novelty has worn off.

I wasn't arguing I was "right" here, just being honest about my feelings on it all.

and frankly, I don't feel like throwing $0.15 at any post is really going to make that significant of a difference at this point.

If I had an excess of time on my hands and took pleasure in curation, I might be game to spend my time curating. Yet, there's the ideal and reality - and I've got other commitment that demand my time and energy, after which my enthusiasm levels for working for pennies on this site have significantly dropped, and my capacity to take in an excess of content is pretty much maxed out.

simplifying the matter, it comes down to two words: OPPORTUNITY COST.

yes, I could "exert some influence" by throwing $0.15 at a good post. though truthfully, I don't feel this is where my time is best invested at this point.

tl;dr I am selfish, ungrateful and fuck you, new people, that might need my support that I had so generously received when I was new.
See ya, rok!

"tl;dr"...

easy to come to own conclusions when don't even bother to invest in seeing different viewpoints.

and clearly no point in expending effort trying to explain if someone not willing to listen/read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41