The Vanishing Post??!??!!?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

ws_Vanishing_smoke_1280x800.jpg
Image Credit

Where did it go?

I did a post on here a bit ago and came to check on it, and it's not here! Where is it? I don't know... There doesn't seem to be any way to find it or get it back. I am absolutely sure I posted it. I saw it on my homepage with other posts after I did.
homer-simpson-bush-gif.gif
Image Credit

I have heard this from others, I didn't believe it :P

I had other users tell me their posts didn't show up or they couldn't find them. I think it may end up popping back up at some point, but this is strange and confusing at the moment.
SOBDisappear.jpg
Image Credit

Flow on

I'm not going to dwell on it, this post is more to get a conversation going and see if anyone has any insight into this issue. I'm not going to worry about the post, I'm just going to move on and think of my next post.
f2_usb_hdd_backup.png
Image Credit

Backup your data!

As much as I hate backing things up, this is a reminder of how important it is to do so. I myself need to get much more organized with the management of my data, and I will do so. I think it may be a good idea to store all my steemit posts myself as a backup before I post them.

Thanks for reading, let me know if you have any ideas on why this may have happened.

@rawpride

Sort:  

That first writing always has some love imprinted on it, if it dissappears you write it again but there is that something missing, that magical touch that made the first writing so good. i hate when that happens, I started to write on Word and then submiting the story, saved me a lot of pain hehe.

That's why I decided to just move on, if the topic reemerges within me, I'll write about it again.

It happens, I know people this has happened to and sadly enough they had not backed up their work and lost it. Try writing on a separate word processor and saving it to a drive then post it, if anything happens you now have the original to work with.

I had not heard of this happening. In the future I will start copying and pasting my post content into a file to store it before I post too. That's good advice regardless it seems.

We work hard to post content, so it is definitely disappointing to have it vanish!

Did you post from your phone or a computer? I know it shouldn't matter much, but I've had weird sync issues while using my phone.

Was using the PC. I had a weird experience where I put a order in on the market on my phone, and the money was no where to be found on the PC, it vanished from my wallet and the market. When I went on my phone to the market, it was still there, and when I canceled the order I was able to access the funds from the PC again. Some kinks to work out!

It happened to me last night, I have an IT background I know to back up before submitting and didn't do it. Oops! I just went on to try to rewrite though not as well the article, mentioning the poof in space disappearance and to remember to copy what I am posting just in case.

Yeah it is weird, but this is so new there's bound to be bugs to work out! Awareness is key!

Even the ones that stay on the system march down the conveyor belt and fall off into oblivion like the candy in Lucy's chocolate factory. If your post does not get seen, upvoted and resteemed immediately after posting it will never be seen. Does not matter how carefully you crafted it, or how many cool gifs and pictures you included. People get upset about low quality posts or nudity that is sure to get attention. But if that gets the attention, upvotes and resteems you can't really blame them on taking the path of least resistance.

I have seen this happen to Replys that I have written and posted.

This causes me some concern.

Is it a failure of the software? Is it some kind of stealth censorship?

Please do let us know if you learn anything.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51