Looking for Niche: A Place To Meet People Interested in Similar Tags, Topics and Niches!

in #steemit7 years ago

Dearest Steemians

There is one thing I think this platform needs:

A place to find like-minded individuals.


(These like-minded individuals could end up being your friends!)

Of course you can do a couple of things as a new user:

  • Hang out in Steemit Chat where smaller tags can get flooded with self-promotion.
  • Endlessly browse popular tags in hopes of finding that specific niche you are looking for.
  • Constantly ask around if someone have the same interests as you.

But this is all a cumbersome task, so my idea is to have a "community for communities"!

I call it:


'Looking for Niche'


I have created a Discord channel for discussing the idea. It can be found by clicking on this long text as well as down at the bottom of this post. Please read this full post before deciding whether or not this is a good idea.

Now let me explain: It will be a place where you write a "Looking For" post.

Others with similar interest respond to you. This way you can group up and enjoy each others' content. No need to be alone with your small niche in the great ocean that is Steemit.

**** HERE IS HOW IT WORKS ****


Person One writes:

"Looking for Niche: Graffiti Artists"

meaning something like:

"I am looking for people who are Graffiti Artists that I can share ideas and Steemit posts with"

Person Two then writes:

"Hi @ PersonOne I'm also looking for Graffiti Artists, let's group up!"

They have now started forming a community around Graffiti Artists. This will grow every time someone writes: Looking for Niche: Graffiti Artists, because Person One and Person Two will introduce the new Person Three to their community, and so the snowball rolls.


The idea is to get niche tags engaged. Niche tags does in my opinion not have any real visibility on Steemit. It is not easy for new users to browse through anything else than the most popular and trending tags.

I want to bring niches together so they do not get left behind in the Tag race!

Where I got the idea from:

Have you ever played an MMORPG like World of Warcraft or Guild Wars for example?
If not, here is where the idea comes from:

In MMORPG's players write: Looking for Guild (or an acronym thereof) hoping to find others to play with. They then band together in guilds, or clans if you will, that help each-other out by playing the game together. I believe the same thing can be done with Steemit!

Want to join? Here is the Discord channel for discussion on the project:

DISCORD CHANNEL

Feel free to leave ideas and comments below


Let us bump our heads together and create real communities!

Like the idea? It would help not just me but also this new community if you shared it around and showed it some love. I will be on the Discord, so you can also write me there with questions and comments.

You can follow me for updates on the project.

Best regards,

- RawbinHutt

Sort:  

I like your idea :) It was nice speaking with you over at the Beyond Bitcoin mumble today.

And welcome to Steemit, I'm sure you'll be a great addition to to the community :)

Yeah man thanks for the talk. Learned a couple of new things, which is always great! :D

And thanks for the welcome and vote of confidence in my idea as well! I'm looking forward to next time I can be on mumble. There is happening a lot in this space right now, and I'm happy to be along for the ride.

Ay I like this. That is one of Facebook features is Facebook groups to help manage niche communities; it's awesome you have this idea to fulfill this niche (pun not intended haha) no Steemit. This will also help to maintain a nice consistent flow of relative content to Steemit users keeping retention up. props to you buddy

Thanks a lot for the nice words! Glad you liked the idea. Yeah I hope to build the ultimate place for finding your niche be it big or small. Hopefully that will help small interesting communities get some attention as well!

Heck yeah may the universe guide you on your journey

namaste

Great Idea, i joined steem just around 5 days ago and it is challenging to find people to just have conversations on similar interest topics.

I joined 6 days ago. Are you on discord? General chat is a good place to meet new people too. Followed :)

Absolutely. Very hard to find similar people in my opinion. Jump onto the Discord channel and let us get the boat sailing!
Also thanks for your comment!

I love this idea!

I only began steeming yesterday and so far i am struggling to find my exact niche. I'm clicking the link.

Also if you were wondering what my niche is you can find it here: @stopbeingafatty

Thanks for the comment. I'll check it out. Hop onto the Discord if you want to participate!

thank you for good posting.

And thank you for reading! :D
Remember to jump onto the Discord for all the niche finding.

Yeah it's very nice that we have the best community, steemit!

Thanks for the comment sweetiebo!

Great idea, I'm in!

Thanks for joining arbitrarykitten! :D

Great idea :)

Thanks patelincho! :D

ya u r absolutely right. i joined steemit few days back. it is wonderful idea to find like minded people.

Yep. Nothing better than sharing with someone those who are interested!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97