My experience at the Caricuao Zoo Venezuela

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

On this occasion I want to tell you about my experience at the zoo in Caricuao, Venezuela. Recently I finished my internships there, I'm a veterinary assistant. And I still attend the zoo as a volunteer, and the truth is I'm happy but at the same time very sad. I think it's no surprise to anyone that Venezuela is going through crisis in every way, if there is no food to supply a city, imagine that it would be for the animals that have their whole life in the zoo.

I have never been in agreement with the zoos, I have always seen them as jails for animals, "animals paying sentences they never committed". Although this point of view has changed a little over time, since there are many zoos in which animals do not live in cages, locked, suffering from stress, depression and endless things unflattering for them. I think the most important thing for an animal is its welfare, its happiness, its comfort. If the animal is happy, everything is fine. Now, how do we know when an animal is happy? they say that a look is worth more than a thousand words, and this is true up to a point. In the case of zoos they are obliged to guarantee the comforts and needs of these animals. AND YES, I REPEAT IS YOUR OBLIGATION.

P01-30660.jpg

Or perhaps tell me which of you would like to go from living in your home, to living in the street? Who would like to stop sleeping in a bed to sleep on the floor? Or eating 5 times a day to eat only 1 or maybe none. No one will want that, all when we decide to buy a new house is always better than the previous one! We always want to live better! And the animals too! They also deserve and we owe them a pleasant and satisfying life in the Zoos. Up to this point I agree that there are zoos, if they give them the space they deserve, if they treat them wonderfully, if they give them the food they need, they are waiting for their care, their health. We all want zoos like that!

Now, I present to you the famous Ruperta. This princess is almost 47 years old at the zoo in Caricuao, Venezuela. It feeds on chard, banana, papaya, lettuce, pumpkin, basically fruits and vegetables. She is very affectionate, and loves her citizen. I guarantee that your caregiver loves her as much as she loves him! And this is very important. There really is a great connection between the two of them. She is in a fairly large space, but not enough. Neither do they have the necessary instruments to perform specific studies, x-rays, blood tests. And the saddest thing is that the veterinary doctors in charge of the zoo have a great vocation, a great love towards all of them. And they work with what little resources they have. How great it would be if they had everything necessary so that the health of Ruperta and all the animals of the zoo was 10/10. In Venezuela nothing works, nothing. All of us who are still here in this country struggle against all odds to make "nothing" happen to "everything".

Ruperta.png

The great vocation and great love felt by all the people who work in the zoo is the only thing that has made all the animals that are there stay alive, I am in favor of everyone being transferred to another country where they receive the care they need and really deserve because here in Venezuela they do not live in their optimal conditions. Although we do everything possible because it is so.

Now I present the lioness Cuma, a beauty! splendid, majestic! I love him so much.

Cuma.png

And the beautiful lion king, Aquiles! It is a beauty to appreciate it, my favorite animal is the lion. And without a doubt every time I see it, it gives me a very big emotion. Many when they see it are scared, but how scared to see so much beauty? He is very docile, loves caresses! And I tell you that I had the great opportunity to touch him. It has been one of the best moments of my life without a doubt. The caretakers of the lions (currently there are only 3, Achilles, Attila and Puma the lioness) are very aware of them, as I mentioned before, working with the greatest enthusiasm in the world, with what little they have but with an infinite love. The exhibitions in which they are found are not at all suitable for them, they are very small, they do not have the capacity to run, to play, they are really only enclosed in spaces that do not even reach 20 meters. Although these lions were born in the Zoo and have never been in contact with their natural habitat, it is not appropriate for them. It's sad that they do not even know how rich it feels to run.

Aquiles.png

The name of this beautiful jaguar is Ichu, and I tell you the story of how I got to the zoo.

Ichu (2).png

This Jaguar was in Maracaibo, Venezuela. He always went to a farm to eat the animals, the farm workers decided one day to hunt him and kill him, but the owner of the farm showed his displeasure and ordered them to only capture him but not to kill him. And so it was, they managed to capture him and they gave him to the zoo where he is now in very small spaces deprived of the freedom he had before, of running, hunting, climbing. In my personal opinion, the best thing that could have been done with him would have been to release him to his natural habitat. Or to condition a better space in the Zoo. Where he is now is one of the smallest. Sincerely Venezuela is not qualified to have zoos right now. As I said before, animals that are now should be delivered to Zoos in other countries where they receive the care they need and are in spaces appropriate to their characteristics. But while this is not happening, those of us who are still here in the country, the veterinarians, the auxiliaries, the volunteers, the caretakers, the protectionists, all of us. We will do our best so that they are well.

She is another beauty that the zoo has, her name is Zafira. He loves to immerse himself in his lagoon and eat lettuce. I know perfectly when it's time to eat. He loves to put the food directly in his mouth.

Zafira (2).jpg

Zafira (1).jpg

He also loves caresses!

Zafira (3).jpg

And look at this beautiful tapir. Just like Zafira loves being submerged in her lagoon!

Danta (1).jpg

It feeds on plants, fruits and vegetables.

Danta (2).JPG

Without a doubt I have fallen in love with all the animals that live in the zoo in Caricuao, Venezuela. Above all of this beauty that I saw being born, her name is Regan Paola.

Regan Paola.jpg

Who does not love raccoons? THEY ARE BEAUTIFUL! In the zoo, there are 2. 1 female and 1 male. They eat vegetables, fruits, and occasionally give them meat.

Mapaches.JPG

And this beautiful flame, loves to eat pumpkin. His name is Baya.
She was born in the zoo. Live with 2 more flames.
She was a little sick recently, she injured one of her legs. But it was attended immediately, even isolated from the other 2.

IMG-20180227-00323.jpg

Many people only criticize, destroy, and defame. But how many are engaged in fighting to make that better?
The zoo of Caricuao, has given much to talk about. Especially these last years. I was there, I am a volunteer although I already finished my commitment to the university that was to do my internships. Why? It really was impossible for me not to commit myself to them, not to love them, not to want the best for all the animals that live there. It is very easy to turn a blind eye and do nothing to improve. While I am here in Venezuela and can do something to help the animals that need it most, I will do it. And if many more people think like me, many things would change.
Many people go out to fight every day. Others only dedicate themselves to destroy.
It is in you to be different, love what you do, whatever you do, do it with love. And always the results will be satisfactory.

28944657_10215682280070959_1071715061_o.jpg

The zoo right now does not have the right conditions for the animals to live. How unique is the account with the workers who get up every day to do the best they can to make them well. I have seen doctors cure wounds without gloves, without articles, without articles of which they teach us so much in the biosafety class.

Not everyone has a vocation, and those who have a vocation are worth gold!

I do not justify any bad condition in which you can find some animals of the Zoo. Every animal deserves to live in optimal conditions. Let's fight because that's the way it is, let's fight because everything changes. They do not know how easy the world would be if many decided to contribute, join a volunteer! Be part of a charitable cause. We all need help! And 4 hands do more than 2.
If we have a problem, what's next? Solve it or make it bigger?

IT'S ON YOU ..

This is just a little of the experiences that I have had to experience in this Zoo, if you like taste in the comments. And I will continue commenting on this topic.

Sort:  

Great picture! I like it 👍
upvote-bild-fertig.gif
You got an upvote, so it would be a nice gesture to follow this account for more upvotes in the future 👊🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53