Ask me litterally anything : An experiment in social interaction aka "what is the ultimate question"

in #steemit6 years ago

IMG20180311152057.jpg

I really do love Steemit, but the sometimes the interaction feels a little one sided. I'm not the greatest at social interaction in the real world (I find small talk impossible) but when asked a question, I am happy to unload my exhaustive knowledge no matter what the subject. You could say learning about the universe in its entirety is my goal in life, and while I don't claim to know everything, If I am ever asked a question I don't know the answer too, I will surely find out. I have notebooks full of ideas for Steemit articles, but when it actually comes to choosing what to write on my own, the unlimited choice becomes a barrier and I end up writing nothing at all.

So the idea for this simple experiment was born. You ask a question, literally anything and I will attempt to answer it. In the search for Zen, it is possible to come across the question "what is the ultimate question?" Turning that into a game doesn't particularly help one find inner peace, but it sure can be a lot of fun.

With such a broad topic range as "anything" I could forsee the dilemma of choice being a problem to getting questions, so in the spirit of Steemit and to encourage participation I will offer a 1SBD prize to my favorite question.

If it all still seems a bit too vague here are some sample questions

Do penguins have knees?
what do you think about wearing odd shoes?
Can you explain the theory behind subwoofer design?
how many pocky can you eat at once?
have you ever built a fire truck?
Explain colour to a blind man?

I figure this little experiment will either go very well, or very badly, but thats the fun of the unknown.

A strange post like this wouldn't be complete without a strange photo to accompany it, so the above image is a photo of my back yard, taken from the perspective inside a no longer used bird cage.

Sort:  

My Question: How come you did not answer the questions you asked of yourself? ^_o

That question pretty much says it all in terms of online social interaction. ;)

Welcome to Steemit! :)

I do spend a large portion of time talking to myself, I even have the magical ability to ask myself the same question and get different answers, but the goal here really is human interaction. My issue when joining something like a community forum on a topic of interest, is I will read literally everything ever posted. Doing this pretty much gives you the collective knowledge of the forum, but also usually brings to light the questions that have not, or cannot be answered by forum members, and thus I find I rarely ask questions of others in these situations. In the spirit of things though, I have answered my list of sample questions which can be found in a post HERE

Welcome. My questions are ... is that an Agave just beyond the fence on the left? and have you ever used it to make tequila?

Interestingly enough, this has only become a recent topic for me. The short answer yes its agave, no I haven't tried yet. The long version...
I do have many years experience making alcoholic beverages from all number of things, beers, fruit wines and my personal favorite good ol fashioned moonshine. ( I really do make a killer (no pun) moonshine) Unfortunately those particular agave are Agave Americana, not Agave Tequilana, which is the only reason I haven't tried making Tequila from them yet. I have tried sourcing some Agave Tequilana, but am having difficulty tracking some plants down here. I do have 20 acres of land perfect for growing it that is currently sitting bare. Your question has sparked my interest though and I might have a go at doing a small trial batch of Mezcal from those plants. If I do, I will be sure to post about it on Steemit to share my experience.

Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed response. I look forward to reading your future post. Best wishes.

I also have problems in the social interaction aspect. I'm not good with having certain conversations, but people always say that I have an answer for everything, I guess it's because I try to answer every question my mind can think of. If I have a question, I'll search for its answer.

So, my question for you will be... We know the universe is constantly expanding, but... what's beyond the universe?

One of my favorite questions ever, thanks for asking it. I have written a post about it here https://steemit.com/life/@raptordashzero/the-edge-of-the-universe-expansion-and-the-other-ramblings-of-a-madman . I really wish I could meet more people in day to day life that discussed such things for fun, perhaps then small talk wouldn't be so tedious.

Thank you for the answer!

Welcome to Steemit. I think you will like it. There are plenty of people who love talking about cryptocurrencies, but lots of other interests too. Have fun

steemitComment.png
We are excited to see you join us here! Steemit is a remarkable platform that is built to reward users for creating quality content. Its a logic called proof of brain.

As for TechChat, think of us as DJs that create tech content instead of music. We create content by looking for the most shocking, interesting, and exciting breakthroughs in the tech space. Basically - we do all the research so you dont have to.

We hope to hear your opinion on TechChat’s content! We always love to hear from our community.

Happy Steeming 🚀

Im not sure about the analogy of calling yourselves DJ's, Spending many years in both the music industry and tech industry it sounds weird. I guess news aggregator doesn't really have the same ring to it. Still naming conventions aside, I like what you guys are doing. I no longer frequent mainstream news services due to the underwhelming lack of news and overwhelming number of adverts ( or adverts thinly disguised as articles) So you have my follow for now :)

Great! We hope to bring you interesting content and we look forward to hearing from you on our blog! We'll see you around!

7 days are up, so winning question goes to @mbell. This was fun, think I shall have to do it again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59216.84
ETH 2526.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52