Why I Switched from Steemfollower to selling votes at SmartSteem

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

As you may know I've been a long time user of Steemfollower and it's been good to me. Times change though.


new-years-day-2566661_1280.jpg
SOURCE:PIXABAY


For those that don't know Steemfollower is an upvote exchange where you upvote other's posts via the website to earn points. Then you hope that others upvote your post to earn points too. Your latest post stays viewable till payout or till you run out of points.

The problem is getting up votes in return is getting harder and harder. As more high Steem Power users have begun using the sites they have also begun using the promote tool. They spend their points at 2-5x to get their posts on the top of the page. I've had to resort to using the 2x to start getting votes at some days I still have points left the next day.


reach-2697953_1280.jpg
SOURCE:PIXABAY


I still like the concept for Steemfollower and I'm sure it's meeting the needs for a lot of it's users, but it's not meeting mine. I don't want to be the definition for doing the same thing expecting different results so I looked for an alternative.

That alternative looks like SmartSteem. I can sell my votes there for 85% of what others pay for them. Then I can take that return and buy up votes that are worth at least 200% of the amount paid. So lets do the math shall we?


abacus-1866497_1280.jpg
SOURCE:PIXABAY


Lets say we have a 2.00 value for our up vote and someone pays 1.00 for that upvote. We would get 0.85. Then we can turn right around and use SmartSteem's SmartMarket service to buy upvotes from others with that 0.85 worth at least 1.70. If we use are same 2.0 up vote on Steemfollower we'd get 2.0 worth of points but to actually get up votes we'd have to at least promote at 2x so we'd get back 1.0 in up votes.

SmartSteem's net of 1.70 beats Steemfollower's net of 1.0. That's why I switched.

Sort:  

I haven't used Steemfollower but Smartsteem has been a very pleasant experience for me.

Same here for the most part. I've been using it for up votes for awhile. Now I've decided to play both sides of the fence.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94