The Drone! It's Here, But We Had a Failure to Launch :(

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)



DSCF6588.jpg


The funding cashier check(again, who still uses those?) came today. I was just not willing to wait any longer so we took it to the bank, cashed it and headed to Best Buy with some printed B&H pages for price matching goodness.

We saved $60 bucks on the drone and another $30 on the extra battery. This partially offset the New Mexico sales tax. Figure in the fastest I could have gotten it from B&H was overnight which would have meant arrival on Thursday would have cost another $82 I'm happy with what I paid.


DSCF6590.jpg


Unboxing a new shiny shiny is always fun. The first let down of the day came when both the controller and the batteries where at less than 50% charge. So it was time for some World of Tanks while everything got a good charge.


DSCF6592.jpg


After everything was charged we took the Phantom 4 out to the Manzano Open Space. Someplace we had flown the older drone several times. I thought this was a good idea so I could compare the footage from the Phantom 4 to that I had captured with the old Yuneec Typhoon Q500 4k.

We got the battery in the drone, the propellers on, the phone on the controller, everything turned on, and nothing showed on the phone. As far as we could tell the drone and the controller were connected and I could have flown it just fine without the phone. I just wouldn't have had any idea of what kind of footage I was getting.

Out of an abundance of caution we packed up brought it back and went over the manual. Turns out we were plugging the cable that connects the phone to the controller into the wrong USB port on the controller. We good a good looking video feed back at home once we got it in the right port. Tomorrow morning we'll be right back out with the drone to give it a first flight, fingers crossed.


oops-1444975_1280.jpg
SOURCE:PIXABAY

Sort:  

Wow nice but why is it not lunching ,but you have to re create it to work perfectly ,,thanks for sharing on steem,,,,you can also upvote @horlly posts

we got it working now. We'll fly it in the morning :)

Alright you did a great job.

Upvote my comment too as i do to you

I found this useful bro, thank you.

You're welcome

Awesome! Great story. I can't wait to see it in action!

Should have the first flight vid up tomorrow or the next day. Thanks for the upvote.

may be i reasteam your post dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68