Gaining Steem Again

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

bank-20619_640.jpg

I've noticed the Steemit accounts I follow being more active recently, highlighting the beauty of the idea behind Steemit itself and the cryptocurrency backing it up. I'm among those more active this past week, and the reason is simple. The incentive to blog has returned, and it's because Steem is gaining value again in the open marketplace. It's such a wonderful concept, that you can be paid for your work, at no direct cost to those giving appreciation for it.

I was talking with someone the other day about the concept of Steemit who has a background in finance and banking, so I compared Steem inflation to central banking and fiat currencies' inflation. With central banks, the inflated money supply is given to private lending institutions who are theoretically supposed to lend it to businesses for capital expenditures, leading to economic expansion. With Steemit, the currency is allotted to producers directly as their content is upvoted. I find Steemit's system of inflation to be much more elegant, especially since central bankers give their money to extremely rich people who then gamble it in equities and other markets.

With that said, I'm glad to see Steemit thriving, and I'm glad that the recent run up in cryptocurrencies has partially restored the size of the incentives I first encountered when I joined the Steemit community.

What Have I Been Doing in the Meantime?

I've been expanding my family. We had a son 2 months ago and he has been a rather time consuming joy. Lucky for our family we've had a much easier time with his infancy than our first child.

I've been fixing our car. I'm an automotive enthusiast and my own mechanic, and so I maintain our family vehicles myself. I recently diagnosed an imminent engine failure on our main family hauler, which we bought used a year ago. I've spent a decent amount of time over the past months diagnosing and repairing (replacing) that engine.

I've been maintaining our property. Our home sits on just under an acre of rural land in Southern California, and there's a decent amount of neglect we've been getting a handle on since we've moved in the house, and I've been working on several home improvement projects as well. Since I stay home with the kids, I make up for my lack of income by doing all of the work myself. Being such a sizeable property entails a decent amount of equipment that we've had to purchase and maintain. I just did a major overhaul of the hydraulic system on my tractor at the end of last year, among other things.

What Do I Hope to be Doing?

Now that our son has arrived and I've got a handle on most of the work around the house, I hope to return to blogging more often on Steemit. It's been a nice little kick in the pants that my stake in Steem currency has increased in value about ten fold from the last time I was active.

Some of the projects I've been working on I've filmed in order to make more repair videos for posting on YouTube. If and when Steemit starts hosting its own videos (like they've begun doing with photos), I'll be happy to host them exclusively here. Until then, I'll likely provide links to them hosted on YouTube.

I still have to learn some new editing software as my old software kept crashing my computer. Last year I purchased some hardware that's way more machine than I need for the simple video editing I want to do, but the software has been a bit more of a challenge. Now that I've settled on a solution, I think it will be easier to get videos edited and posted. With the footage I have accumulated, I could keep myself busy editing for months.

I'm glad to be back on the blogging and video making horse and I'll do my best to stick with it now. Thanks to those who still follow me for your patience. I'll try not to disappoint.

Sort:  

I've been away from the steem-blog-time-hog for similar reasons (9 months) - think I might jump back on

I hope you do! Thanks for the comment.

Congratulations on the new addition! Babies are so cute - Sorry no insightful advice here, I dont have any yet 😂

But glad to have you back on the Steemit wagon, like a #reintroduceyourself kind of blog. I like it. I've given you a follow and look forward to your posts.

Welcome back and congratulation!

Congrats on the new addition to the family, the second is always easier then the first (In my experience).

New to Steemit, but very interested in the platform.

That's exactly what we've found. Thanks for the comment and welcome to Steemit. I think you'll love it here, especially with how much more user friendly it's become. ;)

Welcome back! I've got a second son on the way myself! One more month and he'll be here.

I'm pretty new to steemit, but i'm excited to be here with so many like minded people.

Thanks! It's exciting and nerve racking at the same time.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55400.25
ETH 2294.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33