CONFUSED - Why some users have exactly 17 upvotes and 0.63$ earnings in every comment ??

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I have been seeing this for a while now.
I see users comment and after a second they get 17 upvotes and 0.63$ earning.
Something very fishy is going on here, Am I the only one notices this ?

1.png

Had to put it out there, please inform me what the **** is going on.

Thank you

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit. As far as I know, Steem is not vulnerable to the type of Sybil attack that you are suggesting (except possibly for gaming the hot or trending algorithms). Essentially, the total number of votes is irrelevant. What matters is the stake-weighted votes. That's why one vote from someone with a significant amount of Steem power could be worth hundreds of dollars, while it could take hundreds of votes from newbie accounts to reach $1. Some people keep their Steem power distributed among different accounts, and program them to automatically vote on the same posts as some 'leader' account. The amount of rewards that one post receives will be identical, regardless of whether someone votes with all of their Steem power in just one account, or if they distribute the Steem power to multiple accounts and vote with all of them.

Hope that helps.

Very helpful, thank you for this information.

!!! ATTENTION !!!

This post cannot be tagged as introduceyourself

Please leave this category and space free for new people posting their self-introduction!!

introduceyourself tag should be used only for self-introduction

please comment as you want to resubmit your post for review

thank you

Sorry about that, the post was edited as soon as I saw your replay.

welcome to steemit. I am following your blog. Good luck here on the forum. To your question... I agree. A couple of posts I did I had like 150 up votes in seconds. There must be some kind of a back door in the system that some people are taking advantage perhaps? Its a good question.

Still trying to figure out what's going on in this place :) I hope we will find out soon.

if people are abusing it that would suck! anyways, good post still ^^ followed ;)

It depends who gives them a vote. If it's a big influencer with big following and a lot of steem power then, they get more money.

I wonder if some users are using voting bots to automatically vote for people they like? I thought I read on here that it was a option to do/setup.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32