Video - Helpful Observations of High Earning Steemit Posts

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

So, I've been on steem a whopping 2 days now and I wanted to share some observations about what seems to make a post successful. I have tried several different posts, but they have not done much, maybe this one will be different!

Here's a short video I made to introduce the article.

Write About Something That Matters

When you look at the top posts, they are all interesting. In fact, you may say, "I've always wondered that"! If nobody cares about what you are writing, your post won't be successful.

To start, determine the main idea of the post. This could be hummingbirds, the space-time continuum, the last episode of Lost, or whatever. Just make sure that you have a clear subject of the post.

Start with an outline

You may have heard the saying, begin with the ending in mind. Did you know that JK Rowling had the entire Harry Potter series before she started the first book? It's true. Making a plan will keep you on subject and make sure you don't leave anything out. A great way to plan is to create an outline. An example outline is below:

  • Main Idea
    • Sub Idea
      • Component
      • Component
    • Sub Idea
      • Component
      • Component
    • Sub Idea
      • Component
      • Component
  • Conclusion

Write A Lot, Then Cut The Fat

Don't worry about making your post perfect on the first try. You should write more than you need, and when you read through it, rearrange it and trim it to make it flow and stay interesting. Write your first draft quickly, this should flow from your brain. Once your first draft is down, start polishing.

Use Formatting and Media

You need to make sure your article is easy to read. Use the markdown guide to help.

Only use images that you have permission to publish. These are images that either have been licensed for reuse, images you pay to use, or the best option, create your own!

Original Content

Whatever your subject, make sure to use original content. You aren't going to copy and paste someone else's work and make a thousand bucks, not going to happen. Take the time to develop your idea and bring it to life on Steemit!

Conclusion

I hope this guide is helpful, I wrote it mainly to get these concepts into my brain. If you find this helpful, please share it to your other social media, and upvote.

You can do it!

Image of Louie

Have something to add? Leave it in the comments below!

Sort:  

I read and enjoyed your advices and I think the best tool for writing and formatting your posts is: stackedit.io (free)

That's great, should be really helpful. Cheers.

I do all writing/editing offline in a word processor which I find I have more control over. Should I be using Markdown? I must be old :(

Markdown is just code you put into your post to format it.

You can do bold, italic

Headers

Of

Different

Sizes

  • Unordered
    • Lists
  1. Ordered
    • lists

And lots more. Just click on the "Styling with Markdown is supported" link when you are entering your post on the steemit website. It's a good practice to use your word processor to write, then format on this site. Formatting makes your article easier to read,

It's easy when you use the Markdown editor at stackedit.io (free)

Yeah, I'm going to check that out for my next post. Good tip.

I enjoyed your article it was very well written

Great observations, thanks for sharing it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65143.22
ETH 3203.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88