You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Science in Anarchy! Participate in the world's first science experiment on steemit and get paid!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

This is interesting. I've heard a few people say they take tylenol and advil when depressed. Mostly for the psychological connection between physical and mental pain, and a sort of placebo effect it gives them (at the very least)

I take painkillers quite often. I have clinical depression so maybe it's a habit for me in the same way they say chocolate cravings are symptomatic of depression.

I wouldn't be helpful in the study even in control group for various reasons. My meds give me major sugar cravings and I often don't have much appetitie.

You have reminded me that I should pay more attention to what I eat. So thank you for that. I think I will experiment with the advil, in the sense I will pay more attention to any effects.

And one question I have...is if the advil is suppose to help at the onset of depression-type symptoms, how can people really know if the timing is right? That can take months to really realize day to day, if being honest with oneself (or a few years)

Sort:  

Or maybe since I already take advil a lot I might be a good person to do that. So long as in the usual diet group. And I know coming up is time when I get depressed/tired a bit.

Yes you would be perfect in the normal diet + painkller group.
Purpose of the study is to test the null hypothesis, i.e. placebo effect.
Just keep doing what you're doing, but blog about it and add #AS1G1 to your daily journal.

ok I can start soon. So I just take advil when I feel 'crappy', not necessarily everyday?

@radioactivities
Yes exactly. In fact we want you to limit it specifically to when you feel crappy. Since it's not the drug we're testing, but the cycle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43