Gardening enjoyment

in #steemit7 years ago

Greetings all:

Here is one of my favorite small sunflowers I grow for bouquets. This was taken last year. I have a row intermixed with my sweet corn, but they are only 4 inches tall. I had to start over with buying new seed this year due to the birds raiding my patch and me being too busy to notice. I always leave some for the birds, but last year they cleaned me out. Mostly Gold Finches. Later in the season will had photographs of this years crop.

Sunflower.JPG

I also grow some herbs. The following is my patch of oregano and thyme, in that order: ( toward the upper right hand corner of the thyme photograph is some mint (not sure what kind) that someone bought me)

2017-06-27 03.57.25.jpg

2017-06-27 03.57.18.jpg

Here is a shot of a portion of my garden before I rototilled. There are two types of corn, pumpkins, squash, cabbage and cucumbers. My onions, peas and green beans would have been next in the forefront. I got a late start on my garden this year, yet at mid June last year we froze out. Does not happen often but at our elevation we have cool nights, so it does not take much to reach freezing. I also have soaker hoses on all my rows this year to conserve water.

2017-06-27 03.49.08.jpg

This next one is a photograph of growing potatoes under straw. The seed potatoes are set on top of the ground in a row and then covered with straw. Now that they have grown enough I will add more straw. When it is time to harvest you just pull back the straw and pick up your potatoes.

2017-06-27 03.57.03.jpg.

Then finally, here is a photograph of the view from the end of the garden:

2017-06-27 03.50.25.jpg

Thank you for viewing. I trust you have enjoyed it. Have a great day!

Sort:  

So amazing. I had sunflowers in my garden last year. Really good :)

Nice work, nice garden. Have fun with it !

Fun and exercise! Thanks

Wow !! Nice Pics :)

Thanks. Glad you enjoyed the post

this is a real picture.. so beauty

Except for the sunflower I took all pictures during the past couple of days. Thank you!

Beautiful sun flower
You panting potatoes?

Thank you on the sunflower. Not sure what your question is: "You panting potatoes?"...if you mean am I planting potatoes the answer is yes. I have 4 varieties this year.

Thanks for you reply, i hope you succes at gardening potatoes

Thank you. I will add posts as the season progresses to the final harvest!

I like gardening too, i plant water melon, red chile, tomatoes in pots at my home, and i have post a view month ago. I planted for For daily needs. Enjoying the crops themselves would be more fun on the should we buy, while channeling the hobby. Good luck

Glad to hear it. I grow mostly for my family and some friends. We preserve a lot, and store root crops. It gets us through most of winter, and sometimes into the Spring. I grow salad greens under lights during the winter using mostly hydroponic techniques. Thanks again

nice work there, looking good

Super quote, only I would add "work with nature is therapy"! I work 7 days a week in several jobs besides my own small company and gardening and nature releases a lot of my stress.

I completely agree, nature is cheaper than any therapy. and it's effect by far better. not only for stress but also for happiness

i have my own sun flowers at home, but its not too beautiful like yours, is it has various of kind ???

Mine are several varieties that have cross-pollinated. The usually are 5 - 7 inches (12.7 cm - 17.78 cm if my conversion software is working). This I again mixed several varieties in hopes to getting back to my mix.

The flower looks very great :)))

Thank you!

It looks good. Great work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52