A Day of Canning Plums

in #steemit7 years ago

In a previous post I showed a picture of my youngest plum tree, which was loaded with plums. Last weekend I picked them all and spent the afternoon canning.

IMG_1296.JPG

I used a light syrup to hold down the sugar content. I am looking forward to some good eating this coming winter.

IMG_1299.JPG

Then a hot water bath. It is just the beginning of canning season. Lots of work but the reward comes this winter.

I have been having internet issues so it is taking me forever to upload photos. I have wireless internet and have some trees starting to block my signal.

Hope you enjoyed the little I was able to upload... Have a great weekend all.

Sort:  

DQma3V6cpNCdeVhB87PCMcZLc1J8BKDzCJvVxtENkGLoWxC_1680x8400.jpg

Apple for you @r2cornell

Thank you. Apples are on of my favorite fruit.

Oh Really,i like it too...apples and guava is my most favorite fruits.... @r2cornell

549+87.jpg

Congratulations @r2cornell! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey bro nice plums...looking delicious....how many types of fruits trees you have bro...
@r2cornell

I think plums are grow and availble in winter season only ..remaining season which fruits you supply bro....@r2cornell

I have cherries, pears, apples, other plums, raspberries and a cold hardy peach. Some are young trees are young and are not yet producing fruit.

Ho ok bro...is plums are seasional frits or availble in all seasons in your place...@r2cornell

Seasonal. So I can as much as I can for the winter


This is so great post.i sharing to your post.thanks for your given nice post.many many thanks @r2cornell

Hey looking very nice rabits and carrots.....really looking awesome...

Great work @r2cornell 👍
you gonna enjoy plums during your winter lol

Great post @r2cornell sir, i really appreciate your work and effort, i hope you find great results of your hard work.

Thank you! I appreciate it.

Canning is an old forgotten skill - takes some time and a lot of patience .
always getting some cans with fruits when I visit my grandma :)

Yes it is a forgotten skill. Growing up if it was not for my mother canning all summer there would have been some lean times. It is a lot of work, but it sure is a nice feeling when the shelves are lined with all kinds of canned goods.

Brings back such fond memories of my Dad bottling fruit and making jams, they were yummy (Mom was not allowed in the kitchen, all hell broke lose). Apricots, Figs, Peaches but then we lived inland, now reside at the coast and have pawpaws and banana. Enjoy those plums in the winter @r2cornell nothing like reaping your rewards later.

Tasty and sour plums....
Have a look into my blog, you may like any of my posts :-) keep voting @piyushkansal

Thanks for viewing. I will check your blog out.

thanks sir...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49