You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steemit Changing? And Is It For Better Or Worse?

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm still getting acclimated around here, but my biggest turnoff so far has been the disingenuous sounding steemit circle-jerk posts. "Follow me and I'll follow you back" has to be the most counterproductive method in practice to actually gain a captive audience, but this site and the chat are plagued with the request.

Still, even with its faults, I see steemit becoming huge, maybe even on the order of magnitude Facebook enjoys today.

Sort:  

YES. THANK YOU. Rest assured, if I find their posts interesting, I will totally follow them. But I'm not gonna follow someone just for them to follow me in return. Even if they follow me, they probably wouldn't even read what I'm posting (and vice versa). As soon as I see a post like that, or the comments saying "follow me", I'm mentally checked out!

i've only followed someone because a) they posted something interesting or b) commented something interesting, other than that this would be facebook 😉

Same here - drawn by the content and the quality writing and turned off by the terrible grammar, spelling and sentence construction, let alone poor content or posts with one photo and a couple of words including "follow and upvote me"". The exception has been other Steemians I met in real life at a Steem Saturday last year. Hung on with their posts for a while, but my resilience with the issues I've just raised wore down, unfortunately. Have found some interesting new follows thanks to the comments on this post, including you!

@r0d0n I 100% agree , I never ask ppl to follow me . I think that is rude , That is not why I am on here ::)) I got on because I love poetry and writing stories and When my hubby told me about this after watching a video on youtube I got excited thinking ""cool I can share my passion with others who share the same passion :)) and met a few cool people .. I follow people and if they follow me cool and if not cool as well :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74