You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit: The Current Identity and the Lack of New Investment

in #steemit7 years ago

Another really good post. There is a lot I kinda want to write about it, but you have said a lot of it here and also there is little to no incentive for people to make comments anymore as we also know.
I comment on almost every post that I UPvote and comment on many that I don't Upvote but want to contribute to.
I almost never get an UPvote for comments though I have made over a thousand of them. I still comment anyways because it has a "personal value" to it but its so sad that there is no incentive or support of it and that its becoming less and less common.
There really is so much potential and I have said it since the beginning. Yet a lot of this potential is really being wasted despite how much I believe in and contribute to this community.
I have followed you for a while. Thanks for all your contributions to the community. I even think some of your most important articles made the least or nothing. Great to see this one is getting so much support.
Best Regards~*~

Sort:  

Thanks. I appreciate that. I want to get back to writing more daily posts, or at least a few posts per week, about some of the topics that I had originally started writing about when I joined. I just haven't had as much time to dedicate to writing lately.

It can be discouraging though - not knowing whether people are reading your posts because there's little evidence of it (no comments on your posts). It's the worst feeling as a writer to not see anyone leave a comment that's actually relevant to your post - some sort of affirmation that your post was good enough for someone to take the time to leave their own remarks on it. One of the things that really bothered me here and anywhere else is seeing hundreds of upvotes or "likes" on a post with no comments. How can that many people vote for something and nobody felt it was good enough to leave a single word about it? Did real people actually vote on it? Did anyone even read it? That's one of the things that we're left to wonder here, especially knowing about the use of many bots.

And the potential here is enormous. What's done with it is up to us as users, but mostly up to those of us with the most SP/influence on the platform. Currently, it's consolidated into a few hands, so it's really up to those users to determine the fate of this platform in the short-term. I really do hope that they use that power and influence wisely. They could be the benefactors of some really great and revolutionary ideas in the internet/crypto/social media world. I hope they have the foresight to understand that and what it would mean for themselves and everyone else that could potentially benefit from this.

Thanks again for the comment and for your support.

I feel you man and don't have any argument for your words.
I do hope there will be enough real participants to make this community function sustainably as the potential is there for great sustainable success for many.
I will keep doing what I can to contribute and participate in a valuable future for this community.
You seem to have so far and hope you continue to do so as this place is better with you.
Best Regards~*~

Nice discussion. I'm with you, Quinn, on the importance of comments. From the outside, before I joined Steemit, I was really impressed with the amount and quality of discussion. It beats FB and YT all to pieces. I'm still committed to comments (767 of my 780 posts are comments, lol). They build relationships and that's what gets people to stay on a platform. Content is everywhere if you really want to find it. But connection, that's something else.

I think the SteemTrail category-based curation is a good start. It's manual curation and aimed at building the communities under those tags. I don't mind some of the bots, because they help everyone spend all their votes every day. And through Streemian.com, for example, minnows and even plankton can be part of something, as they support their favorite topic-based communities at some base level, even when they are offline. I'm excited to see the communities grow around specific topics. Even on FB, that's where the engagement happens - in the FB groups.

But I really excited, too, about the other applications being built on the blockchain. That, ultimately, is where the real value is. This social platform is just the overlay that allows the system to be tested, in planned and unplanned ways. And for opportunities and development teams to emerge as folks get to know each other and frustrations arise, as each of us are rooting around here on Steemit with our different objectives and perspectives. I appreciate being a planktonic-sized piece of it all.

I agree with you. I also see the social platform as the foundation to so much more. I have already read ideas pop up on here about an airbnb type idea using steem. Just think of all those 'On Demand' services like them but being delivered on a blockchain. That would just be the beginning. The social platform can lay the ground work for endless possiblities

Beautifully written~
I to am grateful to be a plankton in the great sea ;-)>

Truth is that annoys me, that there is almost a waste to comment upon posts now. I am not a great author so i stopped trying to publish mainline articles every day, I prefer to comment on other peoples work and not have average posts cluttering up the readerships blockchain.

thus for Steemit i must make a loss just to support my platform. Surely something minor could be done to make people use the platform better, to work to comment and improve the websites content articles . . .

Until then i am back to slave labor wages ; which makes minimum wages look real good ! ! !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86