You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Account Verification - Verifying Third Party Social Network Accounts and Websites

in #steemit8 years ago

I do understand the good intentions behind these proposal but, Do you realize that Steemit is a public and transparent blockchain where everybody have access to the information contained in it? It could be at least dangerous, and in my personal opinion really stupid, to publish your private information in a blockchain that could stand for many decades.
Why is so important to know the real name and localizing information of authors? A pseudo is not enough to publish a quality content?
If people are worry about plagiarism the best option is to penalize this behavior after the fault has occurred and avoid to believe that everybody is guilty because you don't know his/her name.
In fact Steemit has a very efficient feature to avoid plagiarism to be a big deal in the long term: your content is valuable and profitable only for 30 days.
Bigger the community, more easy would be to detect plagiarism and those accounts could be just marked as @cheetah does.
Best regards...

Sort:  

That reminds me. I forgot the proposal should ask the user to include their SSN.

As I mentioned in another response, I fully anticipated that there are many users like you that don't wish to share this information and they don't have to; however, if steemit's aim is to move beyond the small niche community that it is, features such as this could help.

I personally would have no issues sharing my facebook account as it is pretty much 100% private anyway.

I think verification should be optional and I worry about it being public. Here's why. There are some great people on steemit. But there are also creepy, aggressive, stalkerish people on steemit. For women, in particular, I think there might be some risk in revealing FB pages, websites etc to the entire steemit public. Maybe have the option to make the verifications public to people the individual person select? Like friending on FB. I think your intentions are good and see the benefits. But there are also risks.

Get too much info and the SSN and identity theft would be super easy.

I totally agree. Who would actually say, I like this article now I want to find out who the author is make sure they are verified so I know they are who they say they are... Should we implement verification for stalkers? Is knowing the author's real identity and past going to influence how you feel about the article? Of course it shouldn't.

I like this clause -your content is valuable and profitable only for 30 days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43