You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Buy When There is Blood in the Streets - Perception, Framing & the Power Down Paradox

in #steemit8 years ago

I am still trying out the system. I envested in SP first and I was making 1800SP per month, based on 60SP per day just for voting. Now I make 4 per day (120 per month). I know this is because there is no interest being paid on SP. That's not a selling point any longer.

When I saw the had fork coming, I invested 1 btc in SBD and put into savings - it pays 9% supposedly (it used to say 15% returns). Twelve days later, and I have yet to see a dime. Also not a selling point.

So I make 1/15 of what I was making last month. I could either put 15 times more into my account ($45,000) or just power down and invest in 4 Dash nodes. For now I will see if SBD interest every comes and wait for the developers to make another extreme flip or flop in the rules we all have to play by here on Steemit.

Sort:  

I believe interest is paid monthly. Also, it is paid only when there is a SBD transaction and it's been at least a month since your last interest payment. If you don't see the interest in your wallet after a month, send someone 0.001 SBD and it should appear.

Thanks for clarifying. Yes interest is not paid out daily. I think it is easy to confuse it with the Steem dilution which occurs all the time. My SBD interest only occurs periodically.

I can sympathise but I suspect without the economic changes that 1800 SP per month would be worth a lot less than it is now. I suspect we would already be at 1 cent per Steem and falling by now. That economic adjustment was a necessary bit of pain in my opinion and has secured the future.

I know. Hard to say though. The price had rebounded out of the blue well before the hard fork was implemented. If the price goes into a dive again now, we are no better off having taken such drastic measures. I know the devs have the best interests of Steemit at heart. I just question their wisdom in making pendulum swings.

The reason the price rebounded was due to market sentiment. Like it or not you can't take speculation out of the equation. The best strategy is to make the most of it. The economic changes should bring more stability but nothing is ever guaranteed.

you're right that volatility in rules can be devastating. in this case, i'm a fan of the changes made in the fork. massive inflation and too long a lock-in period dissuaded me from investing more. Now my two biggest concerns are fixed and i'm fully bullish.

that said, the powers that be should be extremely circumspect in the future in making other major changes.

Yes absolutely and even when changes are necessary it is best to proceed slowly and with caution. Markets get spooked easily.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31