a question about steempower and upvotes

in #steemit7 years ago

when i started here on steemit a few weeks ago I had 27 steempower delegated to me by the system, and my upvote at full power was giving people $0.02

since starting i have powered up all the steem and sbd that i have accumulated by posting blogs and comments, and by playing poker with the crew at @spl , so now have a grand total of 70 steempower of my own plus the additional 27 delegated... so i would have thought that my vote might now be worth $0.06 , but it has remained unchanged at $0.02 even when voting at full power. oh well...

how much steempower will i need to get before it makes an actual difference to the value of my upvote? i had thought that by buying an additional 300 steem i might raise my vote to $0.2 being about 10x the 27SP that i started with, but am wondering now if it would actually have any effect at all...

if anyone can shed any light on this i would appreciate any answers you may have...

Sort:  

Good question, I'm wondering myself. When I started my upvote was worth 4 cents. Now is worth only one cent, so my upvote went down, I wonder why...

i guess it has something to do with the price of steem falling, but it hasn't dropped that much has it? it was around 0.0009btc when i began i think, 0.00055 now...

I have heard somewhere that hard fork caused fluctuations and now everything settled down. I liked that fluctuation though ;-)

I think what has happened is that your powering up has coincided with a fall in the price of Steem and perhaps variation in voting behaviour by others. These are both things that change over time and can make a significant difference to your upvote.

I have noticed about .06 per 300ish steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95