You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lets Talk About Tags 🔖

in #steemit6 years ago

I feel the tag system needs to be improved. There is a growing number of tags with very similar meanings that should be more standardized. Either there needs to be an "index" or "table of contents" with better standardization than the existing list of tags under the "explore" tab, or there needs to be a better way to "zero in" on closely-related tag sets. They're already too diverse, and the problem grows each time someone invents a new tag. I feel it has already had an effect on the number of views of some of my own posts.

Sort:  

Exactly! Everytime a new one is made it creates more noise. I think 10 tags would help solve this at least to give people space to tag better and still have branded tags. I also think implementing Steemit to suggest related tags after you type the first one would really help too :)

Have you ever used the online "Visual Thesaurus?"
https://www.visualthesaurus.com/
I think you still get five tries without subscribing. Anyway, it is a good illustration of how an algorithm can "zero in" on just the right thing...in this case a particular word, but perhaps on Steemit it could be a particular tag. Just an idea worth throwing out there, and a plug for Visual Thesaurus which I have found extremely helpful.

true, I mean it would have to be particular to Steemit though in the sense that it would have to be tags people are using not just well related wordage

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67120.19
ETH 3459.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72