Striving to LIVE | Future What Really MATTER

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

We all work to gain money in order to stay living under a roof. I remember in 2015 when I first arrived in CT. My family biggest fear or I should say my Mom biggest fear was that we might not find a job at the right time to support the family and pay for whatever bills.

Getting a Job:

After quite a time, I found a job, I was the first in the family to work. That really gave a hope to my mother for a chance to improve our living. It wasn’t easy for me to work since it was the first time for me. But being patient help me overcome my fears and work properly with comfort. It actually took me awhile to get used to the job. After me, my mother and twin brother found work too. Now we all work to pay different kinds of bills, and it’s all separated between each other. A team as I could describe it ^^. 

The biggest problem was having one car and one driver. My twin brother learns driving fast in order for us to reach work. I know how my brother suffer until he gets his license when he was it was only our first year in U.S.

Thank you for my bro ^^. Now my brother and I work in Dunkin in the place and it even near our house where we don’t even need the car to get there ( do some sports walking :) ) 


School :

I get to be a senior according to my past school records. I have entered a month after the beginning of school. The shock was when I got my first High Honor in High School for my first Quarter there. I was really happy for my accomplishment. Even thought English weren’t my first language but I was able to reach that status with hard work even though I had a job. I kept taking High Honor for the rest of the Quarter. The sad news is that I didn’t get to graduate with those status in the graduation ceremony since the senior year didn’t get counted. But I was glad to see myself striving for the best I could get out from my abilities.

College :

I need SAT score for college. Grade alone weren’t enough to prove my capabilities. I toke it and the score wasn’t much that year in 2015, I remember it was 1200 something or so. It wasn’t bad at all comparing it to other. I toke this score with me to SCSU university. I had to go through summer classes to prove that I could handle being in college life, so my High School GPA which was 4.6 out of 5 couldn’t help me at the end. But the good news was that I didn’t pay the 2000 so dollars for those classes in summer. Although even if I had to pay them I don’t have enough money. I feel I am blessed. I passed the classes with good standers and get into SCSU with 6 credits in my pocket. Now am still doing my best to graduate early and find a job to keep supporting my family. 

Fall 2016 will be my second year in SCSU and me already a Sophomore and I will be Joiner in Spring 2017. That’s all were due to the extra credits I had in summer and another credit that I owned after taking a stamp test for my native language. I really feel blessed right now. 

I will keep striving in my life until I get to live comfortably with my family that I love. Steamit will be more than helpful and will act as a supportive community for me and others who are striving for a better life.


Hope you liked my drawing ^^. Next time my story will be a little sad and it happened in my childhood ~~

Sort:  

Wow, very touching story. You and your brother have done very well. Keep up the good fight :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61713.10
ETH 3399.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49