How Technology Differ From 20 Years ago Depending on Where You Live

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Since childhood, I have lived in three different countries until now with different laws and rules for the community. Iraq, Lebanon, and America respectively…

In Iraq 

All About kamels ~~ Why ??? ~~ it's all desert for te most part \( ̄<  ̄)>

I lived my childhood there until the age of 9; I didn't realy knew any place there other than my little peacful house.

The community there didn’t accept at that period technology comparing it to other countries. I remember that Cell Phones at the time were coming out and people getting crazy on them. But unfortunately, not all were allowed to enter the country for community use at the time. Till the moment, I still mind myself with the phone that my Grandmother has in here house

It looks like this… That indicate how much we were behind in technology at the time

I loved to use it all the time. Even to bother other people by calling random numbers haha.

Even computer where introduced to the developed nation. In my last years in Iraq, the computers and cell phones were getting in, but in small quantities. The only thing I learned about them at the time that you could use them to play games (Don’t blame me I was a child ^^).


I use to play SEGA if you know it. Oh also ATARI. Those exact machines in the picture the ones I played in my childhood there. It was so fun to play with. 

You know I just remembered when my family couldn’t first afford to buy either for us. DO YOU KNOW WHAT I USED TO DO??? Our neighbor children always play MARIO Game back then on their TV. SO in some way when I change the channels on my TV an unclear picture of that games appear on the screen; do you believe that haha. I would set down and watch our neighbor playing games without going to their house. ( Sorry neighbor didn’t tell you about it before :(, I was a kid forgive me )

Also, girls at the time weren’t allowed to do a lot of things. Women right weren't that big of a deal when talking about freedom as I remember. Correct me if I concluded Wrongly, I WAS A KID, GUYS…

In Lebanon

Al Rawsha Rock in Beirut ~~ You know ~~ People used to commit Suicide in the top of the rock because of Love Conflict (〒︿〒)

Everything is different there. Women, men, it really doesn’t matter. All nation there free to do whatever they want under the law. I would like to call it an “Open Country” while comparing it to Iraq, it's a “Close Country”.


There I could also go and play games on the computers, haha, but I get to realized that those machines could actually give me data that could help me in school reports and papers. I remember I would go into a computer store and pay half a dollar for an hour to use one of the computers in stores, it was so much fun. So ATARI and SEGA disappear from my life there and get replaced with computers. I would sit down with my brother for an hour there and form a group with other kids and play Counter Strike against each other, and if we were lucky, the team that loses get to pay for the winner ^^, was so much fun (But what a luck, I WAS A LOSER IN THE GAME HAHA). Remember, I didn’t say the team was a loser hahaha I am such a lucky girls. By the way, I just remembered that I was the only girl there :(. ( But who cares we are all one :) )

YO HALF A DOLLAR FOR ME WAS LIKE A $1000 DOLLAR *.*  (Again I was A KID)

In 2012, after I passed the government test for the last year in Middle school. (There is Two Government test in Lebanon which is different than school test, one in the last year in Middle School and one for the last year in High School. If you failed in this test you repeat that year until you pass O.O) I get to have my first Cell Phone Ever 

This one…

I end up giving this phone to my little brother ~~

And then I get this exact red one, couldn’t find a picture for it alone …

I end up selling this phone to my Uncle HAHA *,*

After one year I bought myself a good Nokia one, I was so proud since I bought it with my money $.$ ..I still get his name in my memory, it was Nokia Touch C5…

Before I leave Lebanon to America in 2014, I gave up this phone to one of my best friend who’s her family didn’t afford to get her a cell phone at the time. 


PlayStation came into the community and my family couldn’t afford to buy it. But after hiding money for months. My brother and me had enough money to buy it, and when we did, we had to leave the country. We didn’t get to play PlayStation 2 :( :( :(.

In United States

It’s a whole world of technology. I get introduced into to many things that I didn’t know. Including that... Laptop Mac... ACTUALLY EXIST   O.O (This time I won't say I was a kid HAHA)

I reached U.S. without Cell Phone until the beginning of 2016. And I also get to have that awesome MacBook *.* that would help me in school. You could say that technology wasn't that important since people didn’t use them to benefit their needs. While here in U.S. I could tell that technology is a big part of our life. 

I probably wouldn’t no Steemit or anything about crypto-currency or even to dive into technology if I didn’t have to go through all that adventures …


 < All Pictures Copyright to the owners from google >

Two Notes under pictures By Me ^^

Hope you liked the post ~~

Sort:  

This is great and thanks for voting me!

Nokia 3110 good phone!)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62