Sort:  

Unless you want stability, of course, which is the mindset of the bigger investors here. And mine too, to a certain extent. I want it to grow, but not in super quick pumps that will guarantee a dump and a loss of value after a stage of excitement.

I don't want to have to sell my savings into USD in order to freeze the value when the dumps occur.

But havn't the pumps helped steem and steemit to grow? It's maybe about interests. Those who are long enough on the platform wish for stability as those who are new want the pump and the growth it brings. Like always the best ways might be in between.

Some pumps may help the ecosystem grow, but overall, they're unpredictable. I used to have a cryptocurrency that had a stable value of 14 satoshis. It stayed like that for months. One day, people decided to pump it. It got to 34 satoshis. Then, it went down to 2 satoshis and hasn't left that pit for months.

Pumps are unpredictable and destabilise the market. On the Steem blockchain, if we want a long productive stay, we need stability and security over quick pleasures.

If you could tell me which crypto that was i'd like to invest in. I am pretty sure when it was at 14 satoshis for months and is now completely underrated there is a good chance to make a win. Unless it is a shitcoin, but when it is a shit coin then the pump is not guilty of the outcome. Most pumps we see increase the value of the alt coin longterm. And i don't think STEEM is a shitcoin, with all that community and innovations behind it. I think it's enormly underrated.

Hahaha damn. This was a smiley right? I instantly went to https://coinmarketcap.com/de/currencies/experience-points/
(XP coin) and searched for the pump.

Not a smiley, that's the one I'm talking about.

Oh ok thank you, then i have to take a second look...

3 and sold for 32! Wow
Glad to hear it saved you during the dump! You are one lucky woman!

Yeah, hahaha, I made way too many mistakes and was losing big. When it suddenly rose, I sold and counted and realized, in the general dump, that I had just about as much as when I had started, whereas my friends were all in big red numbers.

I wish I could keep the luck going, lol :3 I'm needing a lil bit for my trip out of the country. Go, crypto markets! I'm counting on you!

It was only at 14 satoshi in the correction of the Dec/Jan018 crypto-hype.... but the hype was not a pump

I remember one day waking up to my friend telling me "sell sell sell sell" because from one day to another, it had gone from 7 to 34. I sold at 32 and then it went down so deep that I was very thankful or I would've lost a lot of profit.

I don't know if that was a pump or a hype or what, but it was really sudden and surprising.

Yes it was during the crypto hype, this effected not just one coin but nearly all.
You made a pretty good deal there if you bought for 14 and sold for 32! but if you compare before the hype with after the hype XP was not even worth 1 satoshi and now is between 2 and 3..

That's not bad. You could have lost it all.

Yeap, but I have a very wise financial advisor on my side :)))) So I won't lose that much if I keep pestering him enough for him to tell me to pull in or out of a market.

I can gently agree to disagree on this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01