Make it easier to follow people on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago
  1. Find a person
    2017-06-14_1332.png

  2. Click on the person who created the post
    2017-06-14_1333.png

  3. Click on the followers and add them.
    2017-06-14_13331.png

Add My Followers and Vote on my Post!

https://steemit.com/@pulsecitymedia

The problem I see with it is that many new people might not know that you can click on someone's name and that clicking opens up such a window. The current interface both presupposes this knowledge and requires one mouse click more than seems necessary. To users with good computer skills this might not sound like a big deal, but most people don't have good computer skills, unfortunately.

There are a couple of possible ways to improve this that I could think of. The first way is to make the window appear on mouse hover rather than on mouse click. This will eliminate one click. I like it because the user is prone to move the mouse over the name, even if by accident. When it happens once (by accident or not), the user will learn that the window appears when they move the mouse over the name.

The second way is to add an additional Follow button somewhere next to the name. This again would eliminate one click because the user now has to directly click the Follow button rather than click on the name and then on the Follow button. What I don't like about this approach is that it will make the interface more cluttered.

Does anyone see another approach?

Sort:  

I add to your post and followed you. Mines is different. I am new, Sorry if I have made a mistake. Wont happen again boss!

nice work. I have followed you do follow me back to help each other thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65100.88
ETH 3526.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36