Why Steemit is better than Akasha.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

As an Ethereum and Steem investor, I'm always curious about two chains competition. Today I would like to talk about Ethereum's social network service, Akasha.

To prevent infinite loop attack to its network, Ethereum has a gas feature. IMHO because of it, Akasha will not be able to compete against Steemit or existing centralized SNS. Already high gas price is killing some projects.(See high gas price is killing some projects seriously.)The gas price was supposed to go down proportionally to the Ether currency price increase.

Price is somewhat dropped. But in a fixed, artificial manner. Why? This gas price has to be fixed to certain level which enough to protect its most valuable/expensive dapp. Otherwise there will be infinite ways to bribe other miners and users to include transactions. Now you have to pay fixed gas price when you post, vote, edit. People want certain features as free. I'm afraid that people will not use pay to post service. IMHO those Turing completeness support chains will suffer from similar problem.

Conclusion
Fixed gas price will be a serious problem of Akasha.

Sort:  

steem = 1337
bitcoin = shitcoin

but honestly ... bitcoin is way too much outdated to provide any solutions for future projects. alone the transactiontimes, blocksize, max possible transactions per second ...

Please don't spam with shitposts. This doesn't help anyone.

Bitcoin was never intended to be a world digital currency, Satoshi envisioned it to be a digital gold like coin, which it has performed rather successfully.

Marketers and pumpers tried to spin Bitcoin as a world currency.

Bitcoin is the most secure blockchain that exists and that's a fact, only issue is that it can't scale.

If you want shorter transactions use zero confirmation transactions.

Which isn't an issue except that marketers want to force scale.

Is it bad that I thought the post said "Better than Alaska"?

I need to sleep more... Have a great day!! I think Steemit is not going to have the problems that that Akasha will have..

I haven't heard of Akasha and like @bigedude I thought it said Alaska at first haha.

I find the name interesting, I imagine it refers to the akashic records belief

I have to fully agree that fixed gas price is not beneficial. If I had to pay to post, I'd probably be less interested in discourse and more interested in maximizing my Akasha usage, which for me would defeat the purpose of social media.

In short, I'd end up at a Steemit if I were presented with an Akasha

Yes indeed. People will naturally post more and grow the community when posting is free.

I've never even heard of Akasha. I suspect that doesn't help them much either.

Since bitcoin developers are working on off chain transactions that might also be a solution for this problem you present. Although I do believe that steem has the advantage among others due to first mover effect.

Second mover effect is very credible as well, to learn from the first's failure.

See Yahoo and Google

Very true although this platform appears to grow and evolve and due to the interest of the people could start to function like a true DAO (without the DOA).

There is advantage on fixed price system. It will encourage new users down the road and prevent super voting power.

Always try to find balance on both systeams (open and fixed).

Good fost!
Thank you

Do you think that the Ethereum community being so active could make Akasha work just with all that motivation?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71