You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Sense of Steemit Currencies (Steem, Steem Power, and SBD)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Great post, Brandon:)

You are an awesome teacher and great resource to newbies on this platform. I think you made an important point about investing into the platform. After a few weeks on steemit, working well and networking, I understood my growth would be slow without investing. Now, I also had a fairy-god-father who delegated me some SP in the early days, but I did make the decision to invest. From there, the growth increased exponentially. It should be understood the growth is exponential on steemit and not linear and slow to start. You can count on your blog being small for the first year at least, if you do not invest or rent SP.

I would like to see the platform guarantee all bloggers in good standing a minimum of ten 1-cent votes a day. I think that would help the platform grow. But right now, buying into the platform is the only short-cut that can be truly counted on.

Thanks for heads up on the minnowfund thing. Fortunately my vote went with another and I did not have to change it. I think this really points to the importance of being authentic on the platform. Steemit does not suffer slippery fish long. Play hard and play fair. There are people here that value those who do so and kick to the curb those that don't.

Still reading ... here's to 'annoyingly patient' people:) The world needs more of them.

Sort:  

Thanks so much, @prydefoltz. You're absolutely right that it's a steady (but slow) build at first here on Steemit if you do not invest in the platform. This can even be true for big bloggers & vloggers, if they don't bring their following with them. That's why it kills me to see people cashout their SBD in their first few months. I really feel (if they want to build big here) they should invest everything into Steem Power... at least for the first few months.. if not a full year.

And I agree that people need some incentive for curating content and that could easily be done if their initial SP delegation from Steemit Inc. was more substantial. I'm glad you pointed this out to me a few weeks ago which created @minnowfund. Hopefully the price of Steem will continue to rise to a point where this will be a non-issue.. but for now it's a very real issue. The best bet, as we said before, is to invest if you can.

It kills me too when I see people with loads of SBD in their account. Sock those puppies into the SP and get them working for you. Alas ... I think some people don't know how to power-up or transfer SBD to SP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43