Coinbase is in trouble.

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello Steemit Friends,

Coinbase you silly fools.

Hopefully most of you know by now that Coinbase, the digital currency startup, did not support the Bitcoin fork. Users who had held Bitcoin did not benefit from the split and subsequently did not receive their fair share of Bitcoin Cash. As a result, there was a large outcry and huge frustration shown by Coinbase users. Some stated it was similar to a stock broker not giving you shares when a stock split. Professionals have speculated Coinbase will get sued for their actions. Quotes like, "What if Coinbase is NSA tool to destroy BTC (bitcoin cash)?" and "Dear Coinbase, if you not release my funds in 1h I am going to sue you." were thrown around the internet.

Personally I did hold a small fraction of a bitcoin on Coinbase, so obviously I was a bit upset. I am missing out on a potential gain. However, I chose to put my Bitcoin in Coinbase right before the August 1st dateline. I knew they were not supporting it. I knew I was not getting Bitcoin Cash, but that still does not justify Coinbase's actions.

Good news for Coinbase is that its major backers do not view the fork as a potential killer to Coinbase. Also Coinbase did take the conservative path which if Bitcoin Cash turns out to be flawed could come back to help Coinbase.

download.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44