Please Keep Your Resteem Wallet Spam to Yourself

in #steemit7 years ago

I guess I'm just an ol' goody two shoes in that I'm not much for gaming the system. If I'm going to get somewhere on a platform, I want to do it organically the way it was designed to work. 

In this age of instant gratification, I guess that's just not fast enough for some. Sure, I often feel the press of time myself, but refuse to let a false sense of urgency ruin my experience. 

As I learn more and more about Steemit, I have seen a crazy amount of...well, begging. Let's tell it like it is. This is often the first thing we learn not to do on Steemit if we didn't know it already.

It's odd really, the way Steemit imitates life. It's almost scary. We all want to be whales, but there's a downside to fame here much like a celebrity with paparazzi in tow. 

You can go to any whale account you know and view their wallet to see what I'm talking about. Steemians transfer usually .001 SBD just so they can include a memo begging for upvotes or whatever it is they want. 

Why not? It's easier to do this than to put in the work, right?

It's also tacky. Just sayin'. 

Is this better than begging in comments? Certainly not and it should be frowned upon just as strongly.

I'm by no means a whale, and even I'm getting spam in my wallet: 

Really?

I've blurred out the sender simply because I don't think public lynching is in good taste. This person had the website in their bio for this service. That's enough. If you truly want to promote such a service why don't you try WRITING A POST ABOUT IT!?!

What a novel idea! 

While I didn't scroll too, too far, it appeared this person had authored nary a post. Needless to say, that person earned a fat UNFOLLOW from the likes of me.

Okay, now I did scroll their entire feed and it appears this individual made a grand total of 3 posts themselves with moderate success. They were certainly doing better than I did with my initial posts. They also have some tenure at 10 months on Steemit. The rest of their endeavors appear to be in curation. While there's certainly nothing wrong with that, I just don't see how that positively correlates with a Resteem "service". 

I digress.

Resteem "Service"

I'm failing to see how paying for such a service to a list of X,XXX followers will help me be a better Steemian. 

How were these followers obtained?

Are there enough of them in the crowd that would be interested in what I post?

More eyeballs isn't everything. A new Steemian needs more of the RIGHT KIND of eyeballs on their WORK. 

Yes, work, because making it on Steemit is work.

My Unsolicited Two Cents

If you think that such a service is valuable, then promote it on your own feed and in your bio. Don't send out your resteem wallet spam to the masses. It's a waste of your hard-earned STEEM. It's a turn-off to your followers. 

Your heart may be in the right place. Create or participate in an outreach to minnows. Teach them to help each other rather than spam and game Steemit. 

ADD to the community...not to yourself. 

Sort:  

I've gotten a few of those offers too. I just put the people on mute. My opinion is paying for a resteem is wasting money. Just because someone has thousands of followers doesn't equate to those followers liking everything they see. Followers don't always mean viewers.

Like you say, keep it organic, build a community, interact. That is the only way. And it wont cost you your soul.

Exactly. Well said!

Loving your thoughts!
They maybe unpopular to some, but to me the only way to succeed is to try and build-up a portfolio of interesting things yourself, no matter how long it takes.
In the end it is the attempt that is important, no matter if you fail or if it takes a lot of time, but the end success will be of your own doing!
For Steem to become a better community and a more focused and clean platform than others, what you are saying must be the norm!
Thank you @prowebwriter !

Thanks for your well-thought-out comment. I'm drawing from my own short experience here on Steemit. My most successful posts are nothing short of work and took hours. This community seems to like and want to learn things. Informative posts are now my bread and butter here on Steemit with a smattering of my thoughts and other interests here and there. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58