Hi steemit ! Help ! My son smoked marijuana !

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


Hello everybody, this is my first time every joining something like this. I need help! My son is 15 years old, he's a good student, into football, and a good social life. When the summer first started he was bored, finally 2 weeks ago he found a summer job. I was so proud and happy for him. Then the bomb exploted!
When my husband called me to tell me that he took my son's phone away because of a chore issue. He checked his messages, and come to find out he's smoking marijuana! Cigs! I've never smelled either on him and I trusted him 95%. We have open communication, and I'm a mom that's update to date on everything.
I don't know when? how? but he's been sneeking behind our backs. I just found out a couple of hours ago and I'm still really hurt, mad and dissappointed. He doesn't know that we know yet. I plan to discuss the situation with my husband when I get home from work.

Tommorow morning I plan letting him know that we know and punish him. I was thinking taking his cell phone away for a month, no fbook, no game, an earlier cerphew. Does anyone have any suggestions.
I would really appreciate any advice or suggestions any of you have. Thank you :-(

Sort:  

I guess you don't live in a country or state where #marijuana is already legal.
Only thing you should make sure is that it is clean organic #cannabis because that is really good medicine. If it's bought from a shady alley, then it could be anything and that is a bad thing.

https://steemit.com/cannabis/@artific/why-hemp-and-cannabis-can-save-humankind-research-scientist-speaks-out

Здравствуйте! Прошу прощения,что на русском!)
Проблема мне знакома очень давно!
Сейчас,главное не торопиться и не натворить самому беды! Помните! Всё постепенно! Для начала разговор,расскажите,что Вы знаете его тайну,потом поговорите о вреде этой привычки и попробуйте найти человека старше него который пробовал но справился с зависимостью! если результата не будет,то пробуйте показать ему людей которые погрязли в зависимости и упали на самое дно!
Не хотелось бы писать дальнейшие строки,но надо! Если все эти меры не помогут,то тогда уже обращайтесь к врачам!
И САМОЕ ГЛАВНОЕ!!! Если он сам не поймёт и не захочет бросить,то НИКТО И НИКОГДА не поможет,ни врачи,никто!

Are you more upset that he smoked marijuana or that he hid it? How would you have reacted if he had been open about smoking? It's important to understand what you're punishing him for because otherwise you risk alienating him.

I don't mean to trivialize any of this, just to say that at 15 years old, typical American males are experimenting with things like marijuana or beer.

Instead of instantly punishing him, you should take the opportunity to get him to open up about why he's doing what he's doing. The punishment can come later, not as an iron fist (presumably for his own benefit), but as a realistic consequence for his actions. At the end of the day, he lives in your home and if you don't allow marijuana use, he should be punished for not respecting those rules. But if you get into the punishment first, he'll clam up so tight you'll lose a line of communication to your son.

This is spoken from personal experience. My mother was more upset about marijuana than cigarettes, but then again everyone was still suffering reefer madness back then.

Good luck to you both

Thanks you ! Good suggestions ! Thanks you very much!

You will obviously do what you feel you need to do as a parent but I wouldn't worry about pot as a danger. Maybe try and educate him on it and some of the negative health implications (which aren't many). I started smoking cigarettes around 12 years old and pot around 15. The biggest problem I've ever had with it was with my parents. Eventually you grow out of it and learn to use responsibly but it would have been better if my parents had taught me that from the start. The same goes for alcohol. I used to get completely drunk all the time but probably wouldn't have if I didn't have to sneak around behind my parents back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23